Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Need help with Renard SS24

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Need help with Renard SS24

    Hi guys,

    I just bought a used RenardSS24 from one of the member here and trying to test and feel what is like.
    1- Currently, I am using Vinex 3.5 update 4 64bit version.
    2- I followed this topic to connect from PC to Controller for the tool that I have at home/work - Modification for using this adapter for common RS-485 adapters
    http://www.doityourselfchristmas.com...485_Converters
    I currently waiting for my order arrive (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00NKAJGZM?ref=yo_pop_ma_swf) to compare and trouble shooting #2 is right or wrong or something relate to cable/network.
    3- I plugged jumper in JP2 according from wiki page (http://www.doityourselfchristmas.com...ntroller_Board) in section Configuring the jumpers on Renard SS boards
    4- Power LED green light is On. Nothing else on.


    How do I know the controller is working correctly?
    How do I know between controller and PC is communicate correctly?
    I want to test one string of light in channel 1 to see if it on or blink or on/off.

    I wanted to start early and test and feel how it works for the kids. My wife think I am crazy to play with Xmas light stuff in January.


    Any input or help is very appreciated. Thank you.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by thangkhungdien; 01-25-2019 at 02:18 PM. Reason: change from RS232 to RS485

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    39
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Need help with Renard SS24

    Have you looked a the troubleshooting WIki page? https://www.doityourselfchristmas.co...he_Renard_SS24
    https://RudolphSearch.com - Making it easier to find info across the Christmas Light forums!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mooresville, NC
    Posts
    7,547
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Need help with Renard SS24

    I will look at this closer when I get home, but for RS232, you need a jumper on JP1

    http://www.doityourselfchristmas.com...nard_SS_boards

    James Family Christmas - 1600 channels of SS Renard channels
    Website - http://jamesfamilychristmas.com/ <<broken
    Facebook - James Family Christmas


  4. Likes TazChaLet liked this post
  5. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Winter Haven Florida
    Posts
    3,039
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Need help with Renard SS24

    ok your saying you made the rs232 adapter but you have a pin on jp2 which is for rs485 is this the adapter you converted

    DE9_to_RJ45_Adapter.JPG
    Last edited by TazChaLet; 01-25-2019 at 02:14 PM.
    James WinterHaven Fl

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Need help with Renard SS24

    Quote Originally Posted by superdave View Post
    Have you looked a the troubleshooting WIki page? https://www.doityourselfchristmas.co...he_Renard_SS24

    I did but my guess the previous owner already stated it has been working. I just jump to to see how it works.

    Quote Originally Posted by Wayne J View Post
    I will look at this closer when I get home, but for RS232, you need a jumper on JP1


    http://www.doityourselfchristmas.com...nard_SS_boards

    Sorry I missed type, I did the RS485 not the RS 232. However, I can't tell the cable is good contact to the pin. The new USB converter is on the way so I will tell my DIY is good or bad.

    TIA Wayne.

    Quote Originally Posted by TazChaLet View Post
    ok your saying you made the rs232 adapter but you have a pin on jp2 which is for rs485 is this the adapter you converted

    DE9_to_RJ45_Adapter.JPG
    I did RS485 not the RS232. Sorry for mistype. I just updated the thread.
    Last edited by thangkhungdien; 01-25-2019 at 02:30 PM.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Winter Haven Florida
    Posts
    3,039
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Need help with Renard SS24

    have you created a element in vixen and patched it to the controller? if so! have you tried to make a sequence and test the controller to see if lights work?
    James WinterHaven Fl

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Need help with Renard SS24

    Quote Originally Posted by TazChaLet View Post
    have you created a element in vixen and patched it to the controller? if so! have you tried to make a sequence and test the controller to see if lights work?
    I did create an element in vixen and patched, just 12 channels with 11 patched. See images. Also, I created a test sequence to see if lights come on but no lights On.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Winter Haven Florida
    Posts
    3,039
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Need help with Renard SS24

    did you program the chips yourself? maybe the person you got it from was running them on different baud rate maybe 115200 I know this is what mine are programmed at.
    James WinterHaven Fl

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Need help with Renard SS24

    Quote Originally Posted by TazChaLet View Post
    did you program the chips yourself? maybe the person you got it from was running them on different baud rate maybe 115200 I know this is what mine are programmed at.
    I didn't program the chips, I got it from the user here and plugin and test it out. I did try it at 115200 but didn't see anything. I will give it a try with different converter tonight when my new converter arrive.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Hudson MA
    Posts
    3,723
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Need help with Renard SS24

    If you are using Vixen 3 and have the controller is properly configured, then Vixen will be sending data 100% of the time (even when a sequence is not playing). This is important because it means that when you connect the controller to the PC and get the wiring right you will get either a green RX led lit (you have it set up correctly) or the yellow FE (frame Error) LED. If you get the yellow LED then you start playing with baud rate and swapping D+ and D- until you go green. Most common data errors are bad baud rate and if this is the first cable you have made then getting the data lines swapped. If neither light comes on then the data cable is using the wrong wires or you have selected the wrong serial adapter in Vixen.


    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show.
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyX...ttrsZNARkUce0Q

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •