Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: F16V3 to Renard

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    418
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default F16V3 to Renard

    Was hoping that one of the DMX serial outputs could run a Renard SS8 on a singing tree. Made up the DMX to Renard cable and attached to the second serial connector from the top. (Serial Output #2 Renard - Start Address 1 - 57600 - 1bit) When playing a sequence (straight from Vixen or FPP) the singing tree is a "dog". It comes on but the mouth positions are slow or don't come on at all. Seems like a timing issue. Looked over many threads on this but none of solutions have changed anything for me. If all else fails I'll just go back to my diyledexpress bridge.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Lebanon, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    2,377
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: F16V3 to Renard

    Keep us informed as to what you find, please.
    We use several Renard strings off of the serial outputs on F16V3s and have not seen any of this.
    We do, however, recognize that this could happen and want to make sure that we have learned from others' experiences so that we don't repeat it.
    Live, Laugh, Love.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    63
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: F16V3 to Renard

    An SSR can not be driven directly off a falcon.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    63
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: F16V3 to Renard

    You will need to get a Renard 32. They can be driven off a falcon

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX (near Katy)
    Posts
    918
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: F16V3 to Renard

    You may have to make a crossover cable:

    The wires connected are:
    Female Pin 1 (orange-white) -> Male Pin 5 (blue-white)
    Female Pin 2 (orange) -> Male Pin 4 (blue)
    Female Pin 7 (brown-white) -> Male Pin 2 (orange)
    Female Pin 8 (brown) -> Male Pin 1 (orange-white)

    In your serial outputs, set #2) to serial data, renard, start address 1, baudrate 57,600, stop bits 1

    That should get you going.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Keith R; 01-08-2019 at 03:56 PM.
    That's a feature not a bug.
    There's no charge for that.

  6. Likes scootchu liked this post
  7. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    2,025
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: F16V3 to Renard

    He is using the RJ45 jack off the F16V3.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    63
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: F16V3 to Renard

    Quote Originally Posted by Keith R View Post
    You may have to make a crossover cable:

    The wires connected are:
    Female Pin 1 (orange-white) -> Male Pin 5 (blue-white)
    Female Pin 2 (orange) -> Male Pin 4 (blue)
    Female Pin 7 (brown-white) -> Male Pin 2 (orange)
    Female Pin 8 (brown) -> Male Pin 1 (orange-white)

    In your serial outputs, set #2) to serial data, renard, start address 1, baudrate 57,600, stop bits 1

    That should get you going.
    You cant load renard firmware onto an SSR which means no baudrate.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    2,025
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: F16V3 to Renard

    Quote Originally Posted by gassy View Post
    Was hoping that one of the DMX serial outputs could run a Renard SS8 on a singing tree. Made up the DMX to Renard cable and attached to the second serial connector from the top. (Serial Output #2 Renard - Start Address 1 - 57600 - 1bit) When playing a sequence (straight from Vixen or FPP) the singing tree is a "dog". It comes on but the mouth positions are slow or don't come on at all. Seems like a timing issue. Looked over many threads on this but none of solutions have changed anything for me. If all else fails I'll just go back to my diyledexpress bridge.
    Did you check your SS8 jumpers in that it's getting 485 and not 232. I have used DMX out of the Falcon, but not Renard. I used a e682 to drive a Renard with success. Something is just screwy I'd bet.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    2,025
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: F16V3 to Renard

    Quote Originally Posted by dim bulb View Post
    You cant load renard firmware onto an SSR which means no baudrate.
    It's an Renard SS8 all in one board. It will receive 232 or 485 protocol. It has pic chips on it that are flashed.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    63
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: F16V3 to Renard

    Quote Originally Posted by scootchu View Post
    It's an Renard SS8 all in one board. It will receive 232 or 485 protocol. It has pic chips on it that are flashed.
    My bad, I saw SSR. Baud rate set on the falcon needs to be some as what is on the SS8
    No cross over is required, just make sure the output us set yo renard if using renard firmware. I ran my renard 32 off my falcon with no issues.

  12. Likes scootchu liked this post
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •