Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: New to Pixels and Falcon

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Clarksville, TN
    Posts
    282
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default New to Pixels and Falcon

    Let me start by welcoming myself to the land of pixels for the 2019 season. Nothing like starting the 2019 plan early!

    I recently got my first Falcon to complement my Renards and seem to be having some issues.

    Is there start to finish documentation for making Falcon work with Vixen 3? I have been through a number of forums, YouTube/vimeo videos and have accomplish a whole lot; however, I seem to be missing something. I can web and test pixels from the F16V3. I can drive Renards without issue from Vixen 3.x.

    I have the following equipment/firmware:
    -ABOX Raspberry Pi 3 B+ with 32GB Micro SD
    -Falcon Player Version: v2.5.3 (v2.5 branch) Host: FPP (192.168.0.1 192.168.1.211)
    -Falcon -F16V3 - v2.01
    -MeanWell PSU 5VDC
    -WS2811 Pixels from Ray Wu
    -Running Vixen 3.5u4 Build #759
    I have successfully configured routing between the Pi and the Falcon
    -Pi wlan int = 192.168.1.211/24
    -Pi eth0 int = 192.168.0.1/24
    -Falcon F16V3 IP = 192.168.0.2/24

    Any ideas of what I can be missing? Is there a particular spot I should be looking at to get output from Vixen to the Pixels?

    Thank you

    Tony
    Tony
    Live since 2007
    Back after a break.
    Putting the Yule back into Yuletide.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Hudson MA
    Posts
    3,527
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: New to Pixels and Falcon

    The next thing to test your ability to control the F16 from the FPP. If you have your outputs on the FPP properly configured, then go to the test page on the FPP and tell the outputs to do things. If the outputs do reasonable things then we can move on to importing a sequence to the FPP. Please post your E1.31 configuration so it can be reviewed.


    2019 - Going to visit my Daughter in New Zealand (again). I will be dark for the 2nd year in a row. Sigh..

  3. Likes Ruppro liked this post
  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Clarksville, TN
    Posts
    282
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: New to Pixels and Falcon

    No luck on the "Display Testing" page, so something must be amiss with the settings.

    Please find the E1.31 settings attached for FPP output and F16v3 input.

    Tony
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Tony
    Live since 2007
    Back after a break.
    Putting the Yule back into Yuletide.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Lizella, GA
    Posts
    1,298
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: New to Pixels and Falcon

    What are the string port settings? Did you assign the Universes/Channels to any ports?
    Matt

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Clarksville, TN
    Posts
    282
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: New to Pixels and Falcon

    Matt,

    I don't recall setting these, but I have been clicking around trying different things to get it to work.

    Please see attached.

    Tony
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Tony
    Live since 2007
    Back after a break.
    Putting the Yule back into Yuletide.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Lizella, GA
    Posts
    1,298
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: New to Pixels and Falcon

    Sorry, No, you FPP is fine ,it sends out the E1.31, I am talking about on your Falcon controller, you have the E1.31 input set, that receive the data from the FPP, but did you configure the ports on the Falcon to tell it were to send the data out to the lights?
    Matt

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Hudson MA
    Posts
    3,527
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: New to Pixels and Falcon

    turn off the non E1.31 outputs on the fpp. you are not using them. on the f16: please post a picture of the f16 string config page


    2019 - Going to visit my Daughter in New Zealand (again). I will be dark for the 2nd year in a row. Sigh..

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Clarksville, TN
    Posts
    282
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: New to Pixels and Falcon

    Please take a look at my string port configuration attached.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Tony
    Live since 2007
    Back after a break.
    Putting the Yule back into Yuletide.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Hudson MA
    Posts
    3,527
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: New to Pixels and Falcon

    do you really have 512 Pixels on each output port? if so then this config has a lot of overlap. I suspect you are carrying universe thinking into a screen that uses a flat channel mapping. there is no place for universe thinking on the string screen. leave it behind on the e1.31 screen


    2019 - Going to visit my Daughter in New Zealand (again). I will be dark for the 2nd year in a row. Sigh..

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Clarksville, TN
    Posts
    282
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: New to Pixels and Falcon

    Re-watched the Falcon Player input/output video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Q-q-UKVNkM) and have it working. The ultimate fix was getting the Pi (FPP) and the F16V3 talking the same. The challenge I face is getting past the channel count and understanding the concept of universes.
    Thank you to everyone.

    Tony
    Tony
    Live since 2007
    Back after a break.
    Putting the Yule back into Yuletide.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •