Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Everything stopping but not freezing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    54
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Everything stopping but not freezing

    I also posted this on the new bugzilla forum, but i'm not sure if we're moved completely over there yet or not so I figured id post here as well.
    Every time I run my program (which consists of multiple sequences), Vixen will
    play one song, and then stop. The program manager shows that it is still
    running, as I can manually push the stop button... but the next sequence never
    shows up. If I open one sequence into the editor, and play it from there, it
    will play fine; but once that sequence is done I can't get another one to run
    until I restart the program. Sometimes it will freeze up, other times it will
    play but the lights just won't work. I'm using a commercial DMX unit that I
    used last year, so I know it's nothing wrong with that.
    Anyone know what I should do? We're supposed to have the show running starting tonight...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Orchard Park, New York
    Posts
    290
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Everything stopping but not freezing

    Crazybob,

    On thought that might explain some of your problems: The program that you are testing do you have "use each sequences's plugin setup" checked? If yes then check the plugin settings for the sequence that is running but nothing is appearing, likely that sequence does not have the preview selected. If this explains the situation then you might consider using one of the other two options (use a profile, or use programs plugin setup) to ensure the execution of the program is consistent for all sequences. Good luck.

    Bill

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    54
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Everything stopping but not freezing

    Thanks for the reply -

    I'm already using a profile for all the sequences. They all run just fine when I open one and push play, but when I try to run them in a program one after another, everything stops working after the song ends. The program manager shows it's still playing, but nothing actually works.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Posts
    86
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Everything stopping but not freezing

    I am having the same problem.
    Mine runs for about 2 hours and locks up.
    I have to close Vixen and reset timers and it will run for another 2 hours.
    I am using the Renard Modified and i am also using a profile.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Posts
    86
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Everything stopping but not freezing

    I switched to a new computer today and all is working great!
    I copied the entire Vixen folder over so nothing changed in Vixen.
    I have not isolated the problem but new hardware works.
    The PC with the problem is a DELL and the one working is home built.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    54
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Everything stopping but not freezing

    Acting on a suggestion from a friend who also uses vixen, I reformatted my show computer last night, and it vixen seems to be running smoother now. Unfortunatly, I still get the "vixen needs to close" message 3 or 4 times a night. When this happens, the music keeps running, but all the lights "freeze" where they are. Once in a while they'll pick back up where they left off, but they keep freezing every ten seconds or so. Once I restart vixen, everything runs fine again. It's freezng at different points in the show, not the same point every time.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Fairfield, Ca
    Posts
    208
    Post Thanks / Like

    Angry Re: Everything stopping but not freezing

    I have the same problem; but with background sequences. I'm VERY curious of other people's setup; and how they don't get these problems.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Apple Valley, MN
    Posts
    3,752
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Everything stopping but not freezing

    I’m having a similar problem. I’m using a profile and the modified Renard and a USB to RS232 dongle. Vixen plays 2-4 sequences, and then stops flashing the lights; the music still plays. Sometimes when I press stop, the button toggles but nothing happens. If I try to close the timer window, Vixen asks me if it’s OK, but when I click yes, the window stays. I have to exit Vixen t close everything.

    I tried both a single profile and the one in each sequence. It fails the same either way. It always finishes a sequence first.

    I thought it might be the USB dongle so I fired up 1.1 from last year and it plays without any problems.
    [I]A mediocre person tells. A good person explains. A superior person demonstrates. A great person inspires others to see for themselves.[/I]

    <a href="#" onclick="return(showhide(this));">Click here to show/hide my display details ...</a>
    <script language="javascript">function showhide(anc){ for(; ; ){ if(!anc.nextSibling) break; if(anc.nextSibling.nodeName == "DIV") break; anc = anc.nextSibling; }//<br />
    var Y='block', N='none', det=anc.nextSibling; //<br />
    if (!det) det=document.getElementById('details'); det.style.display=(det.style.display!=N)?N:Y; return false;}</script><div id="details" style="display:none;"><br /><img src="http://www.vixenlights.com/sig/sig_h.php/128/All.gif" border="0" alt="" /></div><a href="#" onclick="return(showhide(this));">Click here to show/hide DIYC Links ...</a>
    <script language="javascript">function showhide(anc){ for(; ; ){ if(!anc.nextSibling) break; if(anc.nextSibling.nodeName == "DIV") break; anc = anc.nextSibling; }//<br />
    var Y='block', N='none', det=anc.nextSibling; //<br />
    if (!det) det=document.getElementById('details'); det.style.display=(det.style.display!=N)?N:Y; return false;}</script><div id="details" style="display:none;"><br /><b>Chat link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/addonchat.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/addonchat.php</a>
    <b>Christmas Wiki link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php</a>
    <b>File Library link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/dynamics/index.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/dynamics/index.php</a>
    <b>Who's in chat?</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/chat/info.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/chat/info.php</a>
    </div>

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    54
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Everything stopping but not freezing

    At least I know it's not only me. I've tried updating the bugzilla entry since i've reformatted, but something seems to be wrong with the site.
    Upon playing with the software even more, i've noticed that any time i open a routine, press play, and then stop it mid-playback the whole program freezes up... EVERY time!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Apple Valley, MN
    Posts
    3,752
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Everything stopping but not freezing

    Even though 1.1 ran last night, I noticed that it couldn’t keep up with the fast multiple on/off changes. This morning I found out that there was still a piece of Vixen 2.0 running; I’m assuming that it’s the timer that I couldn’t close last night.

    I’m going to try again tonight. I only had the Renard plug-in loaded, last night. Tonight I’m going to try it with the visualizer plug-in also. Maybe slowing the output down just a bit will help. I’d been loading both plug-in’s on my sequencing computer most of the year and hadn’t had any problems.
    [I]A mediocre person tells. A good person explains. A superior person demonstrates. A great person inspires others to see for themselves.[/I]

    <a href="#" onclick="return(showhide(this));">Click here to show/hide my display details ...</a>
    <script language="javascript">function showhide(anc){ for(; ; ){ if(!anc.nextSibling) break; if(anc.nextSibling.nodeName == "DIV") break; anc = anc.nextSibling; }//<br />
    var Y='block', N='none', det=anc.nextSibling; //<br />
    if (!det) det=document.getElementById('details'); det.style.display=(det.style.display!=N)?N:Y; return false;}</script><div id="details" style="display:none;"><br /><img src="http://www.vixenlights.com/sig/sig_h.php/128/All.gif" border="0" alt="" /></div><a href="#" onclick="return(showhide(this));">Click here to show/hide DIYC Links ...</a>
    <script language="javascript">function showhide(anc){ for(; ; ){ if(!anc.nextSibling) break; if(anc.nextSibling.nodeName == "DIV") break; anc = anc.nextSibling; }//<br />
    var Y='block', N='none', det=anc.nextSibling; //<br />
    if (!det) det=document.getElementById('details'); det.style.display=(det.style.display!=N)?N:Y; return false;}</script><div id="details" style="display:none;"><br /><b>Chat link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/addonchat.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/addonchat.php</a>
    <b>Christmas Wiki link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php</a>
    <b>File Library link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/dynamics/index.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/dynamics/index.php</a>
    <b>Who's in chat?</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/chat/info.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/chat/info.php</a>
    </div>

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •