Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Issue with element turning off at wrong time

Post Thanks / Like

Default Issue with element turning off at wrong time

Hello all,
    I am fairly new to this. I am using an Arduino Mega hooked up to x2 - 8 channel relays. Using a total of 16 plugs, and only running basic LED christmas lights.

The issue I am having on a few sequences is that I will have (for example) Plug 3 will be on "set level" solid for a long period of time, however it will turn off when another plug is activated (also at set level). Any ideas?

Here is the code I am using if it helps.
    HTML Code:
    #define MEGA_VIXEN
    //#define UNO_VIXEN

#ifdef MEGA_VIXEN
      #define MAX_CHANNELS 48
      int channels[MAX_CHANNELS] = {2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,22,23,24,25,26,27,28,29,30,31,32,33,34,35,36,37,38,39,40,41,42,43,44,45,46,47,48,49,50,51,52,53};
    #endif

#ifdef UNO_VIXEN
      #define MAX_CHANNELS 18
      int channels[MAX_CHANNELS] = {2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,A0,A1,A2,A3,A4,A5};
    #endif

int incomingByte[MAX_CHANNELS];

void setup()
    {
      int i;

Serial.begin(57600); // set up Serial at 57600 bps

for ( i = 0; i < MAX_CHANNELS; i ++ )  pinMode(channels[i], OUTPUT);
    }

void loop()
    {
      int i;

if (Serial.available() >= MAX_CHANNELS)
      {
        for (i=0; i < MAX_CHANNELS; i ++)      incomingByte[i] = Serial.read();
      }

for (i = 0; i < MAX_CHANNELS; i ++ )    analogWrite(channels[i], incomingByte[i]);
    }

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Issue with element turning off at wrong time

you do not have any synchronizing bits. the data can get 'lost'.
    you are using Analogwrite when you should probably be using Digitalwrite.

you should try the sketch by Victor_PV found here - http://doityourselfchristmas.com/for...th-Random-mode
    Kevin

2017 - Pi3 w/FPP controlling 8 ESPixelsticks driving 1250pixels and 3 Arduino MEGAS communicating with ESP-01s driving 96 channels