Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Distro boards or power blocks?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Saint Louis
    Posts
    168
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Distro boards or power blocks?

    Hi everyone,

    This is my first year with pixels, and I have a question.

    Is there an advantage to using one of these over the other one?

    https://www.amazon.com/6-Way-Fuse-Bl...se+block&psc=1

    https://www.pixelcontroller.com/stor...roller=product




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    2016 - Static Light Show
    2017 - 72 Renard Channels - Roughly 4,200 Lights - 3 Sequenced Songs
    2018 - Added Pixels to Rooflines
    Website: www.doyonlights.com
    You Tube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCQ8...yLJieEEwDto7xg

    Adding Pixel Arches, Snowflakes, and Singing Bulbs in 2019!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Folsom, CA, USA
    Posts
    1,807
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Distro boards or power blocks?

    Both do the same
    F8-Distro is easier to get to connections and work the connection. 8 ports. Best for setup and takedown. Need to provide a mount. Not always in stock.
    Fuse Block - more compact, only 6 ports. likely always available.
    My first choice would be the F8 when in stock.
    In Lights Therapy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    4,182
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Distro boards or power blocks?

    Another option is the Pops Power Distribution Board.
    It's the only distribution board I know of that has been load tested with professional equipment.

    https://holiday.lighting/
    http://www.doityourselfchristmas.com...with_4_Outputs

  4. Likes dcamron liked this post
  5. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Morganton,North Carolina
    Posts
    1,609
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Distro boards or power blocks?

    Quote Originally Posted by ukewarrior View Post
    Another option is the Pops Power Distribution Board.
    It's the only distribution board I know of that has been load tested with professional equipment.

    https://holiday.lighting/
    http://www.doityourselfchristmas.com...with_4_Outputs
    I use these with my Falcon build.Work great!
    (1)Falcon PI Player (Running the show)
    (1)Falcon F16V3
    (1)Renard SS16
    (1)Renard SS24
    (1)EDM-LCD-CS-EP
    (20)P10 Panels



    WIKI
    Become A Supporting Member

    Falcon Christmas
    Renard Controllers


  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Chambersburg, PA
    Posts
    643
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Distro boards or power blocks?

    The advantage as I see it to a Power Distro board is that you are giving yourself your V+ and V- in the same location. If you use the Fuse Block for the V+, you need somewhere to combine and distribute the V- side of the circuit lke This Grounding Bar. I started with the Fuse Block and Grounding bar, but in my newer enclosures, I have moved to the Power Distribution Boards for the convenience of the design. In addition to the other Distro Boards listed in this thread, i like the RenardPlus DC Distro Board, it has resettable Poly fuses, while it does not have some of the power ratings of other designs, for my small enclosure system, they work great.
    2012 - 1st year 64 Channels - 7500 LED lights - 5 sequences
    2013 - 128 Channels - 10,000 LED lights - 7 sequences (2 New)
    2014 - 201 Channels - upgrading 8 Arches to dumb RGB - 8+ sequences (1+ New)
    2015 - 240 Channels + 8 Universes - sequences TBD
    2016 - No Display
    2017 - Back in the Game - 240 Renard Channels + 12 Universes
    2018 - 256 Renard and 9 Falcon Outputs of Pixels - 16 sequences shown over 2 nights

  7. Likes ezellner liked this post
  8. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    West Bloomfield, MI
    Posts
    624
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Distro boards or power blocks?

    As others have said, distro boards are my preferred way to go as well. Built in fusing, neat arrangement, similar to controller connections, etc. I use these: https://www.crockettfantasyoflights....cfol-distro-8/ They have LEDs that indicate a fuse is blown which is handy when you're out in the cold and dark.
    Ed
    Happily retired

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Distro boards or power blocks?

    Just got several of the Falcon F8-Distro boards and wondering if people are putting fuses between the power supply and the distro board? If so,what size fuse would be appropriate for a 5v power supply?
    Last edited by sfuzzy; 03-02-2019 at 10:20 AM.

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Lizella, GA
    Posts
    1,282
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Distro boards or power blocks?

    Quote Originally Posted by sfuzzy View Post
    Just got several of the Falcon F8-Distro boards and wondering if people are putting fuses between the power supply and the distro board? If so,what size fuse would be appropriate for a 5v power supply?
    Well the 8 outputs have 5A fuses so that would be 40A, but the power input for the board is only rated for 30A, and if you use the 80% rule for safety, then you are down to 24A on the input line, (3A per Output average)
    Matt

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Phx,AZ
    Posts
    131
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Distro boards or power blocks?

    I use crocket fantasy 4 lug distro boards. On everything. They even sell a dual 4 boards for 2 pwr supplys, great on matrix screens. They also Have led indicators,fuses and are a fairly small size as well as. I rarely use 8 boards, unless it's on a bunch of low pixel props off 1 or 2 ports.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •