Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 41

Thread: Network Question

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Redding Ca
    Posts
    243
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Network Question

    Setting up my GECE ESpixel sticks. Been doing a lot of searching through the forums on what people are doing for a wireless show AP. I bought a TPLink Omada outdoor AP. Have it connected to a standard network switch, no router. My Rasberry PI and laptop are also connected to the network switch. Assigned static IP addresses to the AP, Computer, Rasberry PI, and GECE sticks. Is there any need to be connected to a router connected to the internet?

    Reason I'm asking, is I had some issues yesterday with my AP not responding anymore and had to take it down and reprogram. I suspect that I forgot to save any changes and the automatic daily reboot of the AP was turned on to happen at midnight.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Madison, AL
    Posts
    262
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Network Question

    Unless you have a real time clock on the PI, your PI will need to be able to access Internet based NTP servers in order to know the correct time. Without that access, it will not be able to start and stop schedules at the correct time. Now, if you have your PI on both your home network and your show network, your PI can access the NTP time servers from your home network. Other than that, I don't think anything else needs Internet access.
    Keith

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Folsom, CA, USA
    Posts
    1,625
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Network Question

    I run my system isolated from the internet…..just need to manually set the time once in a while, because it looses 2-3 seconds a day, otherwise everything is good.

    For Switch vs Router . . . I think somewhere in the system you should have a router. I tried a switch too, but the router was a snap.
    Last edited by mrGrumpy; 10-31-2018 at 06:25 PM.
    In Lights Therapy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Network Question

    Quote Originally Posted by mrGrumpy View Post
    I run my system isolated from the internet…..just need to manually set the time once in a while, because it looses 2-3 seconds a day, otherwise everything is good.

    For Switch vs Router . . . I think somewhere in the system you should have a router. I tried a switch too, but the router was a snap.
    @mrgrumpy I was just curious to exactly how you have your system set up. I have all (wireless) EsPixelsticks too. I have a Pi to run my show from or I can do it from a laptop. Are you connecting your laptop (that has your show) do you have this connected to a wireless router setup as an AP? If so do you have the laptop connected into one of the LAN ports or do you have it in the WAN port (where the internet would be plugged in)?

    I have an extra router or I also have an ubiquti EdgerouterX & with a nanoststion. I have 2 networks set up on my EdgeX set up one for the show & one for my home network, but my home network has restrictions I can’t seem to fix. So if I could just use my laptop & the extra router (in AP) mode not connected to the internet that would work & my home network would function as needed.

    Sorry for the Lang post just trying to explain clear as possible. Thank you for any information!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Folsom, CA, USA
    Posts
    1,625
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Network Question

    Simple setup.....
    Pi cable connects to router (with WiFi or additional AP) = FPP eth0
    wlan0 in set to home network so I can access FPP from desktop, laptop or cell.

    I run everything on FPP as a player

    I have more, but this is the basic.
    In Lights Therapy

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Redding Ca
    Posts
    243
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Network Question

    So just any old router instead of the switch? What would you need that for if you are not using DHCP?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Folsom, CA, USA
    Posts
    1,625
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Network Question

    Quote Originally Posted by JLStout View Post
    So just any old router instead of the switch? What would you need that for if you are not using DHCP?
    Yes, MOST any old router, but with AP, I turn the radio off on the WiFi units. I'm 100% ESP and DHCP Multicast works best for me.
    In Lights Therapy

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Greer, SC
    Posts
    73
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Network Question

    im just using a AC1200 with 10 ESP's

    no need for internet lik eothers have stated, except for the time clocks. i am using a Laptop for the show soooo.

    everything is DHCP, multicast
    [2017] 32 Renard Channels, 3360 LED Lights
    [2018] 240 Renard Channels, 14070 LED Lights, 2 projectors, and one donkey

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Redding Ca
    Posts
    243
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Network Question

    Surprised by the DHCP instead of static IP. Do you have your router connected to the internet or standalone? Will it issue ips if not connected to the internet? The thing I was worried about if using dhcp is interference from my home network which uses dhcp.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Folsom, CA, USA
    Posts
    1,625
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Network Question

    No, not connected and not required to be connected. I run an isolated show with desktop access on demand. To update FPP, I either bring the Pi into the office and connect cable connect (DHCP so automatic connect) or, pull the uSD and plug it into another Pi with internet connection. The only issue I have is the clock.....one day I'll do a Real Time Clock add-on. DHCP is a function of the router, not the internet.
    In Lights Therapy

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •