Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: DMX Fire Machine, Xlights, F16V2 Help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    110
    Post Thanks / Like

    Question DMX Fire Machine, Xlights, F16V2 Help

    So i picked up a dmx 512 fire machine and i'm trying to figure out how to get it all mapped out in xlights, fpp and my f16v2 controller. Currently i have it connected to dmx port 2 and the pins are set to DMX. If i run a test via the controller web dashboard it triggers.

    Now, the issue i'm facing is how to get this mapped into XLights and running in my show. i've watched numerous videos and tried numerous setup variations in xlights to no avail. any help is greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Sauk City, WI USA
    Posts
    975
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DMX Fire Machine, Xlights, F16V2 Help

    Just create a channel in xlights, in fpp map the channel to output e1.31 to the falcon, in the falcon map the channel to the DMX port.

    What kind of control do you need to make it work? Just a single channel (on/off)?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    110
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DMX Fire Machine, Xlights, F16V2 Help

    so here's what i've been able to do in xlights so far...

    Setup Tab
    ---
    E131 > Controller IP > Universe 2 > 512 Channels > Channels 1 to 512 > Active: Yes

    Layout Tab
    ---
    DMX Model > Style: Flood Light > 4 channels > #2:1 Start Channel

    Now when i open up Tools > Test the following occurs:
    - Nothing happens if I click channel 1 to 4 by itself
    - If i leave channel 1 checked and then check channel 3, i get a quick fireball
    - If i leave channel 1 and 4 checked, then check channel 3 I get a pillar of fire

    Channel 2 seems to do nothing and seems to have no effect on any other combination.

    Now my question is, how do i get that to activate in my sequence?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Sauk City, WI USA
    Posts
    975
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DMX Fire Machine, Xlights, F16V2 Help

    Turn on the channels when you want the effect. Sounds like channel 1 is on/off. Channel 3 is little and channel 4 is blast off!

    In xlights sequencer, open the "flood light" by double clicking and you will see the individual channels. Turn them on at the appropriate times.

  5. Thanks corydorning thanked for this post
    Likes corydorning liked this post
  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    110
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DMX Fire Machine, Xlights, F16V2 Help

    Just want to note that i didn't have to change anything at all in FPP or on the Falcon controller. it "just worked" doing it from xlights.

    thanks for the help!

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    1,014
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DMX Fire Machine, Xlights, F16V2 Help

    You can also use the DMX Effect at the model level for a DMXModel and it will give you sliders to set all 4 channels in one effect.
    Didn't pay for a sig

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    110
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DMX Fire Machine, Xlights, F16V2 Help

    So here's what i figured (I think) in case anyone else does a search:

    In XLights, setup a DMX Model (i used the floodlight) and set it to 4 channels. Then in your sequence use the DMX effect and you can adjust the channels accordingly:

    - Channel 1 & 2: Nothing
    - Channel 3: [0-109] Off, [110-255] On
    - Channel 4: [0] 1 second flame, [1-255] 1-3 seconds of flame (7 bits = ~.1s)

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    1,014
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DMX Fire Machine, Xlights, F16V2 Help

    I'll be waiting to see videos.
    Didn't pay for a sig

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Omaha, Ne
    Posts
    3,136
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DMX Fire Machine, Xlights, F16V2 Help

    Discussions of pyrotechnics are not permitted. There are many safety considerations that need to be in place that are not available on DIY hardware.

  11. Thanks smccoy thanked for this post

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •