Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Creating sequence data from outside software & pasting into sequence - Vixen 2.1.4

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    West Jordan, Utah
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Creating sequence data from outside software & pasting into sequence - Vixen 2.1.

    But... What I currently have now is conversion of only one channel. I am unsure on what signifies the end of one channels' event values, and the start of the next. Since the <time> and <eventperiodinmiliseconds> tags are included in the .vix file, does Vixen just count up the event values till it reaches time*eventperod and decides that point X is the end of channel 1 and the start of channel 2?

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,698
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Creating sequence data from outside software & pasting into sequence - Vixen 2.1.

    Quote Originally Posted by EricW View Post
    As for the creating a plugin... I am not at all confident on my ability to create one. Much less even where to start! I feel like for what it's worth just to control Mickey Ears, and the fact that it's already a week into September (my lights fire up October 1st), the AutoIt path may be somewhat of a workaround for now.
    Check this out on how to make an AddIn:
    http://doityourselfchristmas.com/for...addin+tutorial

    If you want me to have a go at it I'd be willing...but I completely understand if you want to do it all yourself.
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,698
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Creating sequence data from outside software & pasting into sequence - Vixen 2.1.

    Quote Originally Posted by EricW View Post
    But... What I currently have now is conversion of only one channel. I am unsure on what signifies the end of one channels' event values, and the start of the next. Since the <time> and <eventperiodinmiliseconds> tags are included in the .vix file, does Vixen just count up the event values till it reaches time*eventperod and decides that point X is the end of channel 1 and the start of channel 2?
    Yup, that's exactly what it does. The only thing I have noticed is that the last channel doesn't necessarily have all of the event periods. It appears to stop when at the last changed event.
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    West Jordan, Utah
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Creating sequence data from outside software & pasting into sequence - Vixen 2.1.

    Holy cow at all those tutorials! Those are awesome! I went ahead and downloaded Visual Studio and watched almost all of your tutorials. It took a day or two haha.

    Is there a function under m_sequence that returns the current location of the cursor? Cursor as in if I clicked on the grid in Vixen, can that location and/or time be returned? I want to take the GUI that shows the sequence name & audio and turn it into a multitude of text input boxes (16 or 17 boxes). Then I can select the exact location of the insertion point before running the addin, and once I hit OK, the values are written out to column X, and rows 0 through 16 respectively.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,698
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Creating sequence data from outside software & pasting into sequence - Vixen 2.1.

    Quote Originally Posted by EricW View Post
    Holy cow at all those tutorials! Those are awesome! I went ahead and downloaded Visual Studio and watched almost all of your tutorials. It took a day or two haha.

    Is there a function under m_sequence that returns the current location of the cursor? Cursor as in if I clicked on the grid in Vixen, can that location and/or time be returned? I want to take the GUI that shows the sequence name & audio and turn it into a multitude of text input boxes (16 or 17 boxes). Then I can select the exact location of the insertion point before running the addin, and once I hit OK, the values are written out to column X, and rows 0 through 16 respectively.
    Unfortunately, as far as I know, there is no way to tie directly into the grid. But what you can do is take care of the channel mapping and importing yourself. It really depends on what your data file includes. So, for example, if your data file includes 5 channels but those channels are all in a row, you can just have the addin ask for the starting channel and import the data from there. In the addin you have access to the channels and the event values so you can edit them directly.

    If the data file has multiple channels that might not be directly, you could set up some sort of channel mapping setup. This is what I did in the 3d Object Suite addin. If it's something you may do multiple times, you can even save that mapping to the sequence so you don't need to enter it every time.

    As for calculating the time, I think you would have to prompt for that information. Fortunately, if you click the grid, it shows the time information in the window. You could just have the addin ask for that value before the import.
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    West Jordan, Utah
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Creating sequence data from outside software & pasting into sequence - Vixen 2.1.

    Ok... I'm crying uncle! I'm a novice at C#. I am close to getting it done, but I have a pesky problem in my code. I can't access the information in the form class, from the primary class. It seems to be a common problem. Yet all the searching I've done it seems like there are 20 different ways to fix it. With me being such a novice with C#, It's basically Greek to me. Would you be ok with looking over my code?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    West Jordan, Utah
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Creating sequence data from outside software & pasting into sequence - Vixen 2.1.

    Let me rephrase that... My code is not the right description. More like it's your tutorial code that I have attempted to bend to my own will.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,698
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Creating sequence data from outside software & pasting into sequence - Vixen 2.1.

    Quote Originally Posted by EricW View Post
    Ok... I'm crying uncle! I'm a novice at C#. I am close to getting it done, but I have a pesky problem in my code. I can't access the information in the form class, from the primary class. It seems to be a common problem. Yet all the searching I've done it seems like there are 20 different ways to fix it. With me being such a novice with C#, It's basically Greek to me. Would you be ok with looking over my code?
    Sure, no problem. I will pm you with my email address.
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •