Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Is it possible to use SSRs directly from PI GPIO

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Weatherford, TX
    Posts
    90
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Is it possible to use SSRs directly from PI GPIO

    I am sure this is simple, but I am hoping someone could point me to a good tutorial on how to connect my SSROZ boards to the PI GPIO?

    Back in 2010 or so, I had a nice simple 64 channel display for a few years. I built about 36 SSROZs and then purchased a couple of never working prebuild Renard board to replace my Grinch and never saw a blink again. http://www.doityourselfchristmas.com...y_Instructions

    Now my daughter has a project where she wants to animate her doll house with some lights using python to control the PI GPIO. She is required to use Python for the class. I have an 8 port SanSmart relay that plugs right into the PI GPIO and works fine, except it is a bit loud loud. I have spent two days searching for directions on how I can get the PI GPIO to control the ssroz boards. Can anyone help?

    My 2 years experience was just about soldering and using Vixen. Now I guess I need to know how the switches and buttons really work.
    Only 20 characters?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Hudson MA
    Posts
    2,704
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Is it possible to use SSRs directly from PI GPIO

    PI GPIO run at 3.3v. SSREZ (And the rest of the DIY SSRs) are designed to work at 5v. The GPIO may work if the wire run is short enough, but then again it may not. For two reasons, you really should put in a buffer:


    1. Voltage shift will allow increased reliability and distance to SSR.
    2. Buffer protects the GPIO from being damaged by things happening on the wire. Once a GPIO output gets damaged, it can take out more outputs and you will need to replace the PI. Replace $3 buffer / replace $35 PI. I go for a buffer in a socket.


    2018 - Moving and going to visit my Daughter in New Zealand. Most likely I will be dark or nearly dark, Some static stuff that is simple to put up.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    494
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Is it possible to use SSRs directly from PI GPIO

    The SSR's we typically use are designed for 5V, but you can change that to 3.3V by calculating a new value for the inline resistor with the LED side of the optocoupler.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    64
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Is it possible to use SSRs directly from PI GPIO

    I suspect it would work but "students" and "AC" together make me nervous. GFI?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Weatherford, TX
    Posts
    90
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Is it possible to use SSRs directly from PI GPIO

    Thank you so much! What do you mean by a buffer? I get the concept, not the hardware.
    Only 20 characters?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Weatherford, TX
    Posts
    90
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Is it possible to use SSRs directly from PI GPIO

    Also, besides a buffer to protect everything, is it just a matter of sending 3.3v or 5v to the proper rj45 connection on the SSROZ or do I need something else.... besides a ground.
    Only 20 characters?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Hudson MA
    Posts
    2,704
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Is it possible to use SSRs directly from PI GPIO

    You Need +5, Ground and four active low signals (one per channel). The SSR is triggered when the channel control line is pulled LOW.


    2018 - Moving and going to visit my Daughter in New Zealand. Most likely I will be dark or nearly dark, Some static stuff that is simple to put up.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Hudson MA
    Posts
    2,704
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Is it possible to use SSRs directly from PI GPIO

    Quote Originally Posted by andyhough View Post
    Thank you so much! What do you mean by a buffer? I get the concept, not the hardware.
    Here is an example of a four channel device:

    https://www.adafruit.com/product/178...RoCDx0QAvD_BwE

    You can buy it cheaper elsewhere. There are also 8 channel devices around.

    Here is a good description of a device and how to use it:

    https://www.petervis.com/Raspberry_P...Converter.html
    Last edited by MartinMueller2003; 03-24-2018 at 06:56 PM.


    2018 - Moving and going to visit my Daughter in New Zealand. Most likely I will be dark or nearly dark, Some static stuff that is simple to put up.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •