Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Nodes or strips

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    61
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Nodes or strips

    Nodes. Easier to fix when a pixel goes bad.

    https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...2M8mN2tHlf0AjG
    Greg Hormann [url=http://cooldisplays.net/index.php?page=single&id=1](Link to Display)[/url]

    Share your display today at [url]http://cooldisplays.net[/url]

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Lizella, GA
    Posts
    1,379
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Nodes or strips

    I too would vote nodes, Strips are not bad, as others have said in certain applications they are the preferred type. In general, if you install them right they will work great, the key is you have to waterproof them, waterproof them, waterproof them. Which of course does not make for easy repair when you do get a failure.
    Matt

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    New Berlin, WI
    Posts
    184
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Nodes or strips

    I agree with everyone else - use nodes. Every Christmas I stop by a house that uses strips. His 1st year was great but the year after a lot of lights were out. This year he replaced the bad strips but after the install one strip only had a faint green glow the whole time. I use nodes and in three years, I've only had one bad pixel that still lights but does light when they all turn blue.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Hudson MA
    Posts
    3,710
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Nodes or strips

    +1 nodes


    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show.
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyX...ttrsZNARkUce0Q

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Phx,AZ
    Posts
    131
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Nodes or strips

    I changed everything I had this year to nodes,except my house outline. Only because they are permanently mounted to PVC lengths and to the house under eve's. If you have to move any prop use nodes...period!!

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    NW Suburbs of Chicago
    Posts
    140
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Nodes or strips

    Quote Originally Posted by dirknerkle View Post
    I made a pixel pole using pixel strips for one of my megatrees this year and it's worked just great.

    I attached six strips over most of the length of the center 3" PVC pole (137 pixels) and connected them in parallel. Then I covered the whole pole in clear shrinktube, followed by carefully sealing both the top and bottom. I used a single ESPixelStick to control them all along with a suitable 5vdc power supply. It's worked perfectly through the length of my show in temperatures down to -18F, and not a single pixel has gone out.

    Attachment 39015 Attachment 39016

    If I may ask, where did you get the heat shrink
    Flash Flash Blink Blink,,Oh What A Relief It Is

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •