Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Drag and Drop Channel Ordering

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mooresville, NC
    Posts
    7,568
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Drag and Drop Channel Ordering

    OK, now this topic is going into two different functions of Vixen....

    As it started, it was channel ordering..... to make sequencing easier.

    and what 'rlilly' has done, is 'toggle outputs' ... these are two very different functions.

    The toggle outputs function, actually moves the output of one channel to another and affects your sequence. It is a very useful tool if you are in a situation where this needs to happen, as with his example. I have also used it with the beta Ren8, where the channel outputs were reversed. A quick channel toggle and they where fixed.

    Also, you don't have to go into editing a txt file. Just right click the channel list, and toggle outputs is an option. ;)
    James Family Christmas - 1600 channels of SS Renard channels
    Website - http://jamesfamilychristmas.com/ <<broken
    Facebook - James Family Christmas


  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Raleigh
    Posts
    110
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Drag and Drop Channel Ordering

    I don't get it.
    If I define a new order ....
    DO I hook up the wires according to that order.?
    or do I hook up wires to the natural order.?
    Thanks in advance
    Dennis
    Jesus is the Reason....

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    North Ridgeville, Ohio
    Posts
    1,558
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Drag and Drop Channel Ordering

    Quote Originally Posted by dadams14 View Post
    I don't get it.
    If I define a new order ....
    DO I hook up the wires according to that order.?
    or do I hook up wires to the natural order.?
    Thanks in advance
    Dennis
    This confused me for a while too.

    Changing the Channel Order only changes the order that the channels are shown on the screen. You can also save different channel orders to names which can then be loaded just by selecting that name. I found this useful when sequencing with a high channel count.

    Reordering the Channel Outputs actually changes the physical order of the channels as they are wired to the controller(s). If your sequence is not attached to a profile, you can reorder the outputs from within the sequence by right-clicking on the channel names column and selecting "Reorder Channel Outputs". Selecting "Toggle Channel Outputs" just shows or unshows the display of the actual channel outputs, it doesn't change anything. If your sequence is attached to a profile, you must reorder the channel outputs of the profile.

    One change that I would like to see is putting the real channel numbers on the Reorder the Channel Output's drag-and-drop screen. I picture it having fixed channel number "slots" that you would drag the channel names to.
    Last edited by omzig; 11-24-2008 at 10:26 AM. Reason: typo
    Don

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    857
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Drag and Drop Channel Ordering

    I second your last point Don.

    However, from what I have seen opening the .vix files with wordpad, is that the channel order is set and the output is based on that. So you would have a fixed channel order "slots" and be dragging the channel outputs to those. Basically the same thing, just different.
    1 channel, 0 dimmable. Powered by a man flicking a lightswitch to the beat.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Raleigh
    Posts
    110
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Drag and Drop Channel Ordering

    I clicked on the channel order. and moved things where I wanted them and I went to output plugins, clicked adjustable preview and plug in setup
    when I click the little down arrow I see the natural order and I draw the lights in .
    Now I click done and try to play the sequence and it is all wrong. NONE of the correct lights show ....
    I need a time out.
    thanks
    Jesus is the Reason....

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Spencer Iowa
    Posts
    1,236
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Drag and Drop Channel Ordering

    On the adjustable preview you do NOT want to check "Respect channel outputs"
    Lets get serious, I have over 10,000 channels on my back, just where do you want to start counting.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    857
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Drag and Drop Channel Ordering

    Quote Originally Posted by jrock64 View Post
    On the adjustable preview you do NOT want to check "Respect channel outputs"
    If you don't click that, won't it look good on screen, but not be what the actual show is doing?
    1 channel, 0 dimmable. Powered by a man flicking a lightswitch to the beat.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •