Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 36" Mega Tree Star xlights setup help

Post Thanks / Like

Default 36" Mega Tree Star xlights setup help

Total Newbie but somewhat skilled....

So I've got a 16 strand CCR Mega Tree all setup and running perfect on an Alphapix 16 controller. No problem there.

I decided to add this star: RGB 6 Section Star Kit For MegaTrees - 36" Wide (RGB Smart Nodes + Controller).

It's all built and I can run test mode from the controller but I can't for the life of me configure and add it in xlights, does anyone have a screen shot of their setup/layout screen along with the alphapix controller setup screen that I can use as a template?

Thanks!!
    Bill

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: 36" Mega Tree Star xlights setup help

Have a look at Leechburg Light's video on how they created a multilayer star. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NNeyKcztsZg

It may create the effect you're wanting. Everything you want the star to do can be a variation on the custom model or a specific layer within the model.

There is also a "number of layers" setting in the Xlights star model, and that may give you what you need, but I'm not terribly familiar with the star model.

Post Thanks / Like

Use the Star Model set for 270 nodes and for the layers type in "70,60,50,40,30,20". I believe you need to start the wiring bottom center and then wire it going counter-clockwise as viewed from the back.
    Thanks,
    Gil Jones
    xLights Developer
    CopperCreekLights on Facebook

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks but I know xlights will build the star for me, I think it's either the controller config is wrong or the xlights config is wrong but I've changed so many #'s at this point that I think it's totally wrong..... Here's my screens. Please tell me what i did wrong.
    Thanks a ton!!

xlights configa.jpg
    xlights config.jpg
    xlights configb.jpg

If you need another view let me know?

Post Thanks / Like