Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: 2811 strip and arduino

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    central MO
    Posts
    85
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default 2811 strip and arduino

    okay so im having a dumb moment, ive been running ws2811 12mm nodes but just got 17ft of 2811 flex strip. they are 12v and i believe BRG. so here my dumb moment. i cant get them to do anything beside turn on and they turn white. i have 12v and GND both on a power supply and data to the assigned PIN on my mega. NOTHING!. am i doing something wrong cause clearly i am...please slap me with what is wrong

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    1,197
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 2811 strip and arduino

    do you have the grounds tied together?
    Kevin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    central MO
    Posts
    85
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 2811 strip and arduino

    yes. tried to tie the two 12v leads and 2 grounds to power supply and nothing. just data connected to arduino

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Tremonton Utah
    Posts
    111
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default 2811 strip and arduino

    Make sure the arduino ground is also connected to the pixels ground / power supply ground


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    central MO
    Posts
    85
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 2811 strip and arduino

    Quote Originally Posted by crees View Post
    Make sure the arduino ground is also connected to the pixels ground / power supply ground


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    i believe i tried that as well. ill try now again to make sure

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    central MO
    Posts
    85
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 2811 strip and arduino

    yes so 12v to 12v, gnd to gnd adn ardruino, data to data...still white

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    1,197
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 2811 strip and arduino

    what are you powering the arduino with?
    Kevin

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Tremonton Utah
    Posts
    111
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 2811 strip and arduino

    Quote Originally Posted by amrutherford2012 View Post
    yes so 12v to 12v, gnd to gnd adn ardruino, data to data...still white
    What library are you using for the pixels? If you connect another kind strip/ lights it works? Please take picture or 12v pixels and the back side as well


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    central MO
    Posts
    85
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 2811 strip and arduino

    Quote Originally Posted by kev View Post
    what are you powering the arduino with?
    same power supply. i have 12v outs, 5v outs and 3.3v outs. 12 to lights and 5 to board

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    central MO
    Posts
    85
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 2811 strip and arduino

    Quote Originally Posted by crees View Post
    What library are you using for the pixels? If you connect another kind strip/ lights it works? Please take picture or 12v pixels and the back side as well


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    tried to use a neopixel and fast led code along with a vixen sketch for xmas show. if i plug my 5v 12mm nodes in same pin its all fine

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •