Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Making lights fit

Post Thanks / Like

Default Making lights fit

Ok, this is my first year doing any type of "display". I usually just throw up a few net lights on a few bushes and be done with it...but not this year!

What I dont understand is how people fit lights perfectly around something with just lights they buy at say lowes. I see people with lights outlining a window or a door and I dont get how they fit perfectly or how I take a string that is say 2 ft or 10 ft too long as use it to perfectly outline something whether it be the roof, window, door, etc. I hate the thought of damaging the lights I bought but how do people do this?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Making lights fit

If you use regular (not LED) C-7 or C-9 lights, you can cut the strings to the exact length you want, because each bulb runs on 120v. If you use mini lights, you can sometimes put them a little closer together than the normal wire spacing, or use blackout caps (or electrical tape) on the extra lights. I am in the process of finishing up wooden frames for my front windows, and had to close up the spacing on the mini's so they would look uniform and not have any extra's............

Post Thanks / Like

Around windows, you can keep going around until the set ends. Same thing on gutters, if you get to the end, go back the other way with the strand. Please don't use the extra from the gutter to go to a nearby tree.:p

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by WakeFan View Post
    ....... Please don't use the extra from the gutter to go to a nearby tree.:p
    Some classic advice there! LOL
    Thanks,
    Brian, your friendly site Admin.

Post Thanks / Like

Please don't use the extra from the gutter to go to a nearby tree.:p
    We'll there goes my plans, back to the drawing board I guess.:D

Post Thanks / Like