Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Input/Output ac/dc step down converter question.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    1,892
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Input/Output ac/dc step down converter question.

    I bought five of these off of Amazon. I am assuming J1 is AC in and on the other end I have 5 volts out DC. The board lights up but I get no DC voltage from the two terminals marked 5V positive and negative. I do get 2.65 volts ac on the other end. I feel like a dunce that I do not understand what I'm doing wrong. Anyone have an idea of what's going on an operator error.

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    1,892
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Input/Output ac/dc step down converter question.

    I got it. 2 outside holes are 5v.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Lebanon, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    1,756
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Input/Output ac/dc step down converter question.

    Based on the first picture, I'd be concerned about the AC line being so close to that capacitor. Are you protecting that area in any way?
    "Never Give Up. Never Surrender!"
    Capt Tagert - Galaxy Quest.
    Al Gerdes - Christmas Lighting Nut!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    1,892
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Input/Output ac/dc step down converter question.

    It's not as close as it looks in the pic. I'll hot glue it.

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    1,892
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Input/Output ac/dc step down converter question.

    From the side. It's powering a San devices e6804.

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Pearland, TX
    Posts
    130
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Input/Output ac/dc step down converter question.

    Just FYI, I have used a few of these types, and they can be quite noisy. I have had to add an inductor and a larger capacitor to my circuitry, to get a smooth 5vdc.
    [url]www.JoeyC.net[/url]

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •