Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Absolute newbie needing some advice.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Absolute newbie needing some advice.

    Hi everyone, I have found this controller which seems like it will do the trick for what I want. Has anyone had any experience with these? Will it work with vixen or LOR software ok? I'm only going to be running dumb strings and I'm sure I will have to inject power, so I'm ok with that. I just want to know if I get a few of these controllers they're going to be recognised in the software packages.

    Cheers

    http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/36CH-DMX5...38.m2548.l4275

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Lizella, GA
    Posts
    629
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Absolute newbie needing some advice.

    It certainly look like it would be fine, looks very similar to the controller offered by HolidayCoro.com,

    http://www.holidaycoro.com/DUMB-RGB-...ERS-s/1837.htm

    As far as "Power Injection" you actually need to use a "Signal Amplifier" for Dumb RGB, it takes the incoming voltage levels for each color, and boosts the load capacity to extend the RGB signal

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/10X-Mini-Tin...item258d83d12c
    Matt 2016, 1st Show

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Lebanon, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    1,759
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Absolute newbie needing some advice.

    Prendy, that is the correct controller for dumb strips.

    A few things to note...
    Smart strips have a full time, always on, power and ground. We inject power because the traces or leads aren't large enough to handle the higher current loads a long string demands. Power injection bypasses or assists the lines by delivering current further down the line. Actual control of the pixels is done via a chip within or near each pixel package and from a data feed that is one of several protocols. (WS281x is a common one these days.) Most smart controllers today use a communications protocol known as E1.31. A version of DMX over Ethernet.

    Dumb strips don't "inject power" like smart pixels do. Dumb strips receive nothing but power from their controller. (No data feed.) In fact, they have a constant power feed and the controller actually applies (in varying amounts) the amount of ground needed to get the individual colors to light up.

    There are ways to extend dumb strips, including amplifiers, but that is a lesson in and of itself.

    The controller you have chosen uses native DMX for control. Something upstream has to send DMX coded signals to the controller that then turns on the lights as you requested.
    Last edited by algerdes; 08-03-2017 at 10:40 PM.
    "Never Give Up. Never Surrender!"
    Capt Tagert - Galaxy Quest.
    Al Gerdes - Christmas Lighting Nut!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Falcon, CO
    Posts
    991
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Absolute newbie needing some advice.

    Good controller. Many are using the 36 channel controller. Ray Wu also sells that one. The display to change DMX and view address is a great feature.
    David Pitts
    PixelController, LLC
    PixelController.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Absolute newbie needing some advice.

    Thanks for the advice, I think i'm on the right track now.

    As for the upstream decoder, which of these do the job?

    http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/NEW-USB-t...gAAOxyFIFSAkdj

    or

    http://www.holidaycoro.com/Enttec-Pr...ongle-p/53.htm ?

    Is it possible to chain multiple controllers with cat5 cable, or would you suggest a series of the 3 pin cables?

    Thanks for your assistance, it's a steep learning curve but i'm sure i'll get there

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    161
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Absolute newbie needing some advice.

    I looked at several of them on ebay, i am guessing it is 36 amps per side for max output. If that is the case i may go with it instead of the 30 channel.


    EDIT: i just looked it up, no, these are only 36 amps total on the whole board, i will stick with the 30 channel, it is 30 amps each side.
    Last edited by jerry72; 08-04-2017 at 01:25 AM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •