Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: LOR/Vixen/Windows 10

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default LOR/Vixen/Windows 10

    Last year I ran Vixen on an old version of Windows Vista and had a 16 channel LOR (with RS485) and an Alphapix 4. To my surprise everything worked great, with the exception of my computer freezing from time to time.

    I decided to buy a new computer for this year and can't seem to get the LOR to work with Windows 10, no issues at all with the Alphapix. Anyone else run into this? I now have 2 Alphapix and am considering doing away with the LOR all together if I can't figure this out.

    Thanks for the help!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    271
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: LOR/Vixen/Windows 10

    My LOR software seems to work fine with Windows 10. Although I haven't actually tried to run the show on my Windows 10 machine. I am just doing the editing right now.

    For 2016 I used Windows 7 Ultimate.
    2016 - 32 LOR Channels - Roughly 5,000 Lights
    2017 - 64 LOR Channels - Hoping for 10,000+ Lights

    Christmas Lights On 16th Street - Facebook Page
    Christmas Lights On 16th Street - YouTube Page

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Sauk City, WI USA
    Posts
    457
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: LOR/Vixen/Windows 10

    Which version of vixen did you load?

    Do you see the port associated with your rs485 device in device manager?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: LOR/Vixen/Windows 10

    I am not running LOR software, I am running Vixen. Thinking I may need to downgrade to Windows 7?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Lizella, GA
    Posts
    596
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: LOR/Vixen/Windows 10

    I use an RS485 to connect my Renard controller on a Windows 10 PC. What Com port is assigned to the RS485? You can find it in Device Manager - Ports (COM & LPT). Windows + X or right click on the "White Window" start button and choose Device Manager. Then in Vixen, setup your Controller using that Com# port.
    Matt 2016, 1st Show

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: LOR/Vixen/Windows 10

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeKrebs View Post
    Which version of vixen did you load?

    Do you see the port associated with your rs485 device in device manager?
    I have the 64 bit Vixen 3.3u2.

    The rs485 is showing in com3

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •