Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 2 rows of text?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Ga
    Posts
    55
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default 2 rows of text?

    Hey all, still really new to xlights but how do you get 2 lines of text on a mega to show at the same time?
    Like

    Merry
    Christmas

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Central New York
    Posts
    156
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 2 rows of text?

    Use a different layers for each text effect and then adjust the x and y positions as needed in the effect settings to get the text effects where you want them.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,447
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 2 rows of text?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mitoga View Post
    Hey all, still really new to xlights but how do you get 2 lines of text on a mega to show at the same time?
    Like

    Merry
    Christmas
    Like someone mentioned....use multiple layers..

    In the sequencer 'window' right click on the left hand side of the line where your text 'element' is and then click "add layer...above or below". From there you can adjust either line by clicking on it...

    It can be tricky if you're using 2 lines on text on a PMT however..... Trying to get the 2 lines to run at the same pace around the tree is problematic. Earlier versions of XL didn't have this issue as both lines would run together.... I wish there was a way to enter number of cycles so that you could tell each line how many times to run around the tree....it is an option on some of the other effects....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Ga
    Posts
    55
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 2 rows of text?

    Thanks for the advice!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    875
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 2 rows of text?

    If you need 2 lines to scroll equally I would just match the number of characters on each line. I guess the tricky part is you had to know the spacebar produces a character.
    Thanks,
    Gil Jones
    xLights Developer
    CopperCreekLights on Facebook

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,447
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 2 rows of text?

    Quote Originally Posted by Gilrock View Post
    If you need 2 lines to scroll equally I would just match the number of characters on each line. I guess the tricky part is you had to know the spacebar produces a character.
    Yeah...that's the work around....it's just that on a PMT the cone shape throws an extra dimension into the mix since the circumferences are different..so it gets a bit tedious if you have different lengths of text, which is more common for me....since I use the text as a song title and artist announcement.....

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •