Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Control servos via Vixen 3 with Mini Maestro servo controller

Post Thanks / Like

Default Control servos via Vixen 3 with Mini Maestro servo controller

Hello,
    This is my first attempt at posting to any forum, so please point me in the right direction if I appear to be lost. Over the past few years, I have used a Pololu Mini Maestro 18 Servo control board to run analog servos (mainly the Hitec HS-322HD model) without a problem. The Pololu Maestro Control Center that the board comes with has worked fine on my computer (Windows 7), and because I know very little about coding, provides an excellent GUI. Recently, I wanted to be able to control servos through Vixen 3 using the control board that I already have, but have been unable to figure out how to do so. After reading some older posts, I set the control center to USB Dual Port; created a generic serial controller in Vixen; matched the COM port for that controller to the the first port listed (port 5); Set the Baud Rate to 115,200, Parity to None, Data Bits to 8, and Stop Bits to One; patched a single item to output one; and clicked okay. Then, I opened a new sequence and tried adding a Custom Value effect from the Device Actions section, which yielded no movement from the servo that I had plugged into channel 1 on my board. No variations of adjusting the Value or Data Type seemed to make a difference, so I deleted the effect from the timeline. After changing the COM port and repeating my setup, I was still unable to make the servo budge. As a last resort, I added a Set Level effect from the Basic Lighting section, and the servo responded. I found that by changing the color of the light, I was able to make the servo move, but only between two general positions. In addition, it seems that only some colors have this affect on the servo. Dimming seems to have no affect at all, and I find these results to be very puzzling. If someone could give me some advice as to what to do next,