Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Driveway Arch

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    320
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Driveway Arch

    Quote Originally Posted by pcprovenzano View Post
    You might need concrete anchors LOL

    Sent from my LG-H910 using Tapatalk
    Yeah, to hold my house down, especially after the wind we have had recently.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    350
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Driveway Arch

    After thinking about it, I think I am doing to use a combination of PVC and cable. I have 2 trees at the front of my driveway (one on each side) and my basketball goal at the other end. So I think running a cable down the middle (10' high) and then draping LED net lights over it in an army tent type fashion will work best. That will allow us to use the drive way and it will also pack away easily (storage is a huge issue for me as we live in a 101 year old house without a garage or basement)
    2016 - 32 LOR Channels - Roughly 5,000 Lights
    2017 - 64 LOR Channels - Hoping for 10,000+ Lights

    Christmas Lights On 16th Street - Facebook Page
    Christmas Lights On 16th Street - YouTube Page

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    350
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Driveway Arch

    Does anyone use metal conduit instead of PVC?
    2016 - 32 LOR Channels - Roughly 5,000 Lights
    2017 - 64 LOR Channels - Hoping for 10,000+ Lights

    Christmas Lights On 16th Street - Facebook Page
    Christmas Lights On 16th Street - YouTube Page

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Greeley, CO
    Posts
    53
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Driveway Arch

    Quote Originally Posted by Protege94 View Post
    Does anyone use metal conduit instead of PVC?
    Yes, I use 3/4 metal conduit. My driveway is about 24' wide. I have used it for several years without any problems (in high winds too). I used PVC the first few years until it got brittle and snapped (falling on top of our cars). No center support or wires. 1/2" rebar into the ground on either side of the arches mounted into the ground (just for the season). All 10 arches are tied together using PVC connectors.

    IMG_1721.JPG

    DJI_0054.JPG

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Chambersburg, PA
    Posts
    467
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Driveway Arch

    Quote Originally Posted by compfire View Post
    Yes, I use 3/4 metal conduit. My driveway is about 24' wide. I have used it for several years without any problems (in high winds too). I used PVC the first few years until it got brittle and snapped (falling on top of our cars). No center support or wires. 1/2" rebar into the ground on either side of the arches mounted into the ground (just for the season). All 10 arches are tied together using PVC connectors.

    IMG_1721.JPG

    DJI_0054.JPG
    I love your garage door. Is it still functional with the image attached?
    2012 - 1st year 64 Channels - 7500 LED lights - 5 sequences
    2013 - 128 Channels - 10,000 LED lights - 7 sequences (2 New)
    2014 - 201 Channels - upgrading 8 Arches to dumb RGB - 8+ sequences (1+ New)
    2015 - 240 Channels + 8 Universes - sequences TBD
    2016 - No Display
    2017 - Back in the Game - 240 Renard Channels + 12 Universes

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Greeley, CO
    Posts
    53
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Driveway Arch

    Quote Originally Posted by TomL8345 View Post
    I love your garage door. Is it still functional with the image attached?
    Yes, it goes up and down just fine with it.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •