Thread: First year, first display. Should I use one strand to outline my house?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Post Thanks / Like

Default First year, first display. Should I use one strand to outline my house?

Hello all,

I am brand new to this hobby, and this year I want to simply outline my house with RGB pixels, instead of the old standard bulbs. I am a pretty technical person, I already have several raspPi, I have experience with neopixels, and have a programming background.

As I mentioned in the title, I am looking to outline my house. I am going to zip-tie the strands to pvc, and then attach the pvc along my roofline. I have purchased a PiCap [link], which has 2 channels, both of which support 800+ pixels. I have ordered 15 strands (of 50) of the square type 12mm WS2811 Lights. I will be using xLights as a sequencer.

My question is:
    Should I connect all my strands together to form one long string (750 pixels) and connect that directly to the PiCap, or should I try to utilize both channels? I am accustomed to running one long string of lights to cover the entire house, so know it can be accomplished. But I want to know if there is any advantage to using both channels?

Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: First year, first display. Should I use one strand to outline my house?

Hello and good morning,

This is my first response as I just recently joined the group. I also am new to the xmas, arduino, LED's ,sequencing. I started last year November, when a student of mine brought to class and other talked about arduino this and that. Then fast forward to present time my garage is now a toy making, LED integration electronics depot. I pretty much take already made electronics and make them cooler or create toys with electronics.