Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 110

Thread: Startup Project - Leaping Arches

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Helotes, TX
    Posts
    15
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Startup Project - Leaping Arches

    I am building four leaping arches. I am using 10' x 1" Pex tubes. I am pretty much following Matt Johnson's model but I will use all 10' with the bases 75" apart. Each tube will have a 5 meter 60/20 pixel strip. so I will probably wind up cutting about 20 nodes from each strip. Now to drive the arches I have two Raspberry Pi3 ($30 each) with a Falcon PiCap each (another $30 each) and one 12 vdc, 400 watt power supply ($29) to power both Pi/PiCaps and the 4 strips. So total cost $190 Can you do this with a single $180 E682 plus the same power supply (add $29)...sure. Plus the E382 will give you 12 outlets to control other stuff, all be it you will probably need to add a second power supply. Or maybe use an Falcon F4V2 at $110 which is $20 less than my two Pi/PiCap controllers. Choices choices.

    With respect to "piling up" as many pixels as I can on a single controller port and using power injection I have my own personal design philosophy. When I can, I try to stay away from setting up my system where I have to use power injection. I realize that sometimes you just can't avoid it. But if I have choice between power injection and additional direct connection to a controller I choose the latter. Maybe I am old school when you did not have a choice.

    Bottom line here is we have options, there are pros and cons on every option we choose. Most times is a matter of personal preference and product availability or product delivery times.
    Last edited by gilv58; 02-17-2017 at 09:29 AM.

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Eagan, Mn.
    Posts
    3,951
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Startup Project - Leaping Arches

    Quote Originally Posted by Bwinter View Post
    I've not had any problems with diffusion or hot spots on the 1"
    I've seen lot's of videos and thread's with people complaining about seeing each pixel (hot spots) with pex. Yes you can dim them down to minimize this. And lot's of people are very happy with pex. I just spoke up when there were two posts asking about HDPE and why people use it. If you like pex and are happy with it, Great!!!
    2009 - 48 channel MegaTree 4800 lights
    plus 3200 lights static display.
    2010 - 6 Snowflakes on heavy equipment stored in front yard :-(
    2011 - 72 channel Megatree 7520 lights,
    120 channel total about 10k lights total

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Netherlands, Lochem
    Posts
    102
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Startup Project - Leaping Arches

    I will have 4 arches with 1 pirb 3b. E382 with 12dc powersupply. For future needs will mount 2x 400W powersupply and the e682 into 1 outdoor junction box.
    Since I can't get pex nor hdpe here I will have to settle for 6'4" acrylic opal tubes.
    Bending will be exciting.
    Last edited by Sammy2004; 02-21-2017 at 01:42 AM.

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    21
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Startup Project - Leaping Arches

    Quote Originally Posted by Skunberg View Post
    I've seen lot's of videos and thread's with people complaining about seeing each pixel (hot spots) with pex. Yes you can dim them down to minimize this. And lot's of people are very happy with pex. I just spoke up when there were two posts asking about HDPE and why people use it. If you like pex and are happy with it, Great!!!
    "Lots"?

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Netherlands, Lochem
    Posts
    102
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Startup Project - Leaping Arches

    any ideas on the bending of an 6'6" acrylic tube? 1 37/64" OD with 1 11/32" ID ?

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Netherlands, Lochem
    Posts
    102
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Startup Project - Leaping Arches

    So i ordered a box in which i can mount the E682 and 2x powersupply.
    With some space left for the wires etc.
    Only requires me to drill a few desired holes on the side of the box and put some waterproof cable glands through it.
    Any thoughts? Box: 15.7"wide x 19.7"tall x 6.9"deep.

    DSC_2684.jpg

    DSC_2683.jpg
    Last edited by Sammy2004; 02-21-2017 at 01:42 AM.

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Eagan, Mn.
    Posts
    3,951
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Startup Project - Leaping Arches

    Quote Originally Posted by Sammy2004 View Post
    China can't deliver.
    Not for a decent price that is.
    2000mm isn't a problem. But 2500mm is.

    Could I make the inside of a tube frosted/opal myself?

    Chemicals maybe?
    Yes, I'm sure you can frost the tube. I've used a green sotchbrite scrubby pad to scuff for a frosted look. You may want to go to a window tint store. And see the tubes that the tint rolls up on. They throw them away and you might be able to make them work.
    2009 - 48 channel MegaTree 4800 lights
    plus 3200 lights static display.
    2010 - 6 Snowflakes on heavy equipment stored in front yard :-(
    2011 - 72 channel Megatree 7520 lights,
    120 channel total about 10k lights total

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Netherlands, Lochem
    Posts
    102
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Startup Project - Leaping Arches

    Quote Originally Posted by Skunberg View Post
    Yes, I'm sure you can frost the tube. I've used a green sotchbrite scrubby pad to scuff for a frosted look. You may want to go to a window tint store. And see the tubes that the tint rolls up on. They throw them away and you might be able to make them work.
    I tried.
    Just frosted it. But looked shit. Since the dispersion wasn't pretty. Too translucent.

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Helotes, TX
    Posts
    15
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Startup Project - Leaping Arches

    Quote Originally Posted by Sammy2004 View Post
    So i ordered a box in which i can mount the E382 and 2x powersupply.
    With some space left for the wires etc.
    Only requires me to drill a few desired holes on the side of the box and put some waterproof cable glands through it.
    Any thoughts? Box: 15.7"wide x 19.7"tall x 6.9"deep.

    Sammy

    Nice!! Who makes the box? where did you get it from? and how much did it cost?

    Please post pics when its populated with controller/ power supply

    Thanks

    Gil V.

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Netherlands, Lochem
    Posts
    102
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Startup Project - Leaping Arches

    Ofcourse I will post pics.
    It's a box from a German manufacturer. Found him on amazon. But found the same product a few euro cheaper on eBay.
    https://www.amazon.de/gp/aw/d/B01EQH...2RXHV1U6&psc=1
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/182105131384
    Last edited by Sammy2004; 02-17-2017 at 09:38 AM.

Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •