Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Nodes or ribbons for building a tree

Post Thanks / Like

Default Nodes or ribbons for building a tree

Hi everyone ,I'm new to using rgb lights so like normal I jump right in.I would like build a 10 foot or taller rgb tree but not sure what displays the best as far as ribbon or nodes? I'd like to show txt and pictures. I have (16) 5 m rolls of 2811 150 pixels. And I have (20) 50 node strings of 2811. Whichever ones I don't use I'm going to use somewere else.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Nodes or ribbons for building a tree

I had a 10' mega tree this year using bullet nodes in pixels strips zip tied to 1/2" emt. It worked fine. The only thing I dislike about the 50/50 pixel strips is if a pixel goes bad, it's a lot more work to fix. I use them on things like arches and things you can take into the house to repair if there's a need.

3. Likes Ruppro liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by stallionent View Post
    +1

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like

Square nodes from Ray with 2" spacing and Boscoyo Strips
    Last edited by rstehle; 01-11-2017 at 01:52 PM.

Post Thanks / Like

Nodes in Boscoyo strips, hands down.

Ribbon will not survive being a tree very well. To hold them straight, you will have to hang and then tension them. Ribbons are rather fragile compared to nodes. Failures are a PITA to repair and will involve removing the ribbon from the silicone sleeve, cutting and replacing the segment. Then put the strip back in the sleeve and re-sealing the ends. And if you don't 110% seal the crap out of the top end, guess where water is going to go? Yea, right inside and STAY inside.

Ribbon is not durable. So you likely would want to attach it to something else that can be tensioned. At that point it becomes more work than nodes and Boscoyo strips.

So, no, unless the tree is only a couple feet tall, absolutely I would not remotely consider ribbon.