Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Whole display wipe effect

Post Thanks / Like

Default Whole display wipe effect

Hi all,
    First post. I am new to this whole scene and have a so far built 2 Sandevices 682 controllers and got them working basically with a few light strings and Vixen3.

I have searched through the forums, and messed around in vixen, but have not yet been able to figure out how to apply a wipe effect across the entire display.
    For simplicity, I have 3 megatrees defined and put them in a group "trees". My preview is configured to have the mega trees next to each other horizontally from left to right. Applying effects to the group seems to just have each tree do the same effect, but not treat the group as a single element.

Can someone explain how I would be able to get a "wipe" type of effect to travel through all 3 trees from left to right?

Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Whole display wipe effect

Should work the way you have it setup. Do you have the direction in the editor set to 'wipe right'?

Post Thanks / Like

The Trees are composed of separate elements, they don't share anything correct?

In the Preview Configuration, under the "Settings" menu is the "Update Location Properties" checked?

Location.jpg

Also did you close Vixen and reopen, then try the wipe? A lot of time when I am making changes to my preview, I have to do that before they take effect.
    Matt 2016, 1st Show

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks for all the responses! Everything seems correct.
    Perhaps I just am missing some fundamental understanding of effects/elements. I've reduced my preview to a single grid. I am applying a wipe effect to the grid with the following effect properties:
    type: pulse length
    direction: wipe right
    color: color gradient (just white)
    brightness: upside down V standard intensity curve
    Pulse: duration=1000