Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: A little help with Teensy

Post Thanks / Like

Default A little help with Teensy

I am very new to working with LED controllers and have been able to figure out some of the very basics but would like to begin upscaling as I begin to further understand some of the intermediate concepts.
    I would like to start working with a teensy 3.2 and an OctoWS2811 adaptor to control a mix of WS2811 and WS2812b lights using vixenlights.
    I am having a hard time with getting started with a sketch as I am unsure on how to work with multiple pins/channels.
    Does anybody have a sample sketch and a basic diagram of how pin connection setup?
    Fore the most part I will be working with a lot of single strings (WS2811) and on a separate controller a mega tree fifty pixels high and 28 - 32 strips wide. (WS2812b)
    Thanks in advance.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: A little help with Teensy

There appears to be a few users here working with the Teensy 3. I have not yet used my Teensy3.1.
    Have you looked at this link to get started? https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_libs_OctoWS2811.html
    It has a sketch to drive 8 strips, if I understood it right.

3. Thanks tecnageek thanked for this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Edited for Duplicate posts
    Last edited by tecnageek; 01-12-2017 at 02:49 PM.

Post Thanks / Like

Edited for Duplicate posts

Post Thanks / Like

Sorry, I wasn't of more help.
    I don't have any WS2812b strings, but I thought they used the same protocol as the WS2811. The wiring may be slightly different.
    The OctoWS2811 board must be used since the Teensy 3x library uses 8 (octo) lines, or rows of pixels. From this I gather that the setup is for video or pixel arrays, but it can also be used in a non-video project. It is the addressing that tells the Teensy which LED to turn on or off.