Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 37

Thread: Changing renard pic code issues

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,341
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Changing renard pic code issues

    Do not do any cutting or pasting (although I do wonder if this means the same thing to you as it does to me).

    Instead, use notepad to open the file that you have downloaded, make the changes, and save it back again.
    Phil

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Monroe nc
    Posts
    291
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Changing renard pic code issues

    do i need an editor to change the pic code or can i not just make a change to it in note pad and save it as an asm file

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Monroe nc
    Posts
    291
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Changing renard pic code issues

    from the way it sounds, i cant make changes in note pad? Do have a recommendation on an assembler to use, One that is not to difficult to use

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Lizella, GA
    Posts
    1,405
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Changing renard pic code issues

    notepad is the editor, works fine that is what I do all mine with. Just open notepad, the goto File => Open, Browse to and select the .asm that you downloaded and works. Make the appropriate changes (remove ;; in front of 115200 line, add ;; in front of 57600 line, change PMW 1 or 0), and then File => Save
    Matt

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Monroe nc
    Posts
    291
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Changing renard pic code issues

    in the wiki the renard ss operational firmware states this
    #define CLOCKRATE 18432000
    #define BAUDRATE 57600
    there are no semicolons in the code at that point
    i am assuming this is where i would make the change for baudrate

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Monroe nc
    Posts
    291
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Changing renard pic code issues

    Quote Originally Posted by Ruppro View Post
    notepad is the editor, works fine that is what I do all mine with. Just open notepad, the goto File => Open, Browse to and select the .asm that you downloaded and works. Make the appropriate changes (remove ;; in front of 115200 line, add ;; in front of 57600 line, change PMW 1 or 0), and then File => Save
    if there needs to be a change what would it be

    ;; PWM_build can be either 0 or 1
    #define PWM_build 1
    ;; DC_build can be either 0 or 1 (it should be 0 if PWM_build is 0)
    #define DC_build 0

    #define CLOCKRATE 18432000
    #define BAUDRATE 57600
    this is straight from the wiki, trying to make baud rate 115200

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,709
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Changing renard pic code issues

    Quote Originally Posted by will3ishere View Post
    if there needs to be a change what would it be

    ;; PWM_build can be either 0 or 1
    #define PWM_build 1
    ;; DC_build can be either 0 or 1 (it should be 0 if PWM_build is 0)
    #define DC_build 0

    #define CLOCKRATE 18432000
    #define BAUDRATE 57600
    this is straight from the wiki, trying to make baud rate 115200
    Change the line:
    #define BAUDRATE 57600

    to
    #define BAUDRATE 115200
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Monroe nc
    Posts
    291
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Changing renard pic code issues

    Well when I do that, save it, compile it, program the pic, play a program with vixen I get no blinky from the controller


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    519 Renard Channels
    1890 pixels channels
    Will it Ever Stop
    Cant Seem to Cure the C.L.A.P.
    Christmas Light Addiction Problem
    maybe more lights will help?

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Monroe nc
    Posts
    291
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Changing renard pic code issues

    I guess a better way to put it is when I open the current firmware in notepad that I can compile and burn to a pic. I'll make the change, save it as a ASM file,compile it, burn it, and it won't work. I know it has to be something simple but my tunnel vision can't see it
    519 Renard Channels
    1890 pixels channels
    Will it Ever Stop
    Cant Seem to Cure the C.L.A.P.
    Christmas Light Addiction Problem
    maybe more lights will help?

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX (near Katy)
    Posts
    964
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Changing renard pic code issues

    Sometimes when saving in Notepad, you have to add the extension .asm, and then save as "all files". Otherwise, it will save the .ASM file as a .txt file. If this is for the PX-1, it is easier to make the changes with the software after the pic is burned. Which code are you using? You might post your .asm file, show the changes you want to make and give someone else a crack.
    That's a feature not a bug.
    There's no charge for that.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •