Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Which controller? Falcon F16v2 seems like overkill...

Post Thanks / Like

Default Which controller? Falcon F16v2 seems like overkill...

So i was ready to pull the trigger on the Falcon F16v2 and use it as the central controller for years to come. I'm new to the hobby and while waiting for the controllers to be restocked, i've done a lot of reading.

The controller itself seems great.

- 16 channels expandable to 32
    - 680 pixels per string (340 if in 32 channel mode)

But how is it even possible to power that many lights? Am I missing something?

Really reconsidering and thinking of going with the smaller board, simply because i could never fully utitlize this controller because of the power requirment. Please talk me out of this and help a noob in need.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Which controller? Falcon F16v2 seems like overkill...

Well, it's able to control that many pixels per port, but powering is another thing. You'll need power injection at some point and power injection in itself is another topic entirely. (Plenty of info here on that subject). The F16V2 is a great controller and I don't think you can go wrong. Once you get the hang of things, you'll likely want to add more and more decorations in the future. F16 will give you room to grow.

Post Thanks / Like

Yeah I've read up on Power Injection, but looking at the board, you power the first 8 channels with one power supply and the other 8 with a second power supply. That obviously isn't enough to power that many lights, obviously, but can you power inject with a different power supply on those strands? I thought I read that this is a big no, no. Could be wrong. If you can power inject with a different power supply this would clear up any questions i have about this controller being overkill or not.

Post Thanks / Like

Yes, you can PI with a different power supply.

Post Thanks / Like