Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23

Thread: Not fadeing

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Not fadeing

    Quote Originally Posted by Barnabybear View Post
    Hi, so you don't end up with an item that doesn't do as you expect again, if you look at the part number on the relays G3MB 202P. You need the G3MB 202PL the P is zero crossing the PL is non zero crossing.
    I'm not finding anything. I found one vid where a guy swapped the ssr but I don't want to do that.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Hudson MA
    Posts
    3,697
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Not fadeing

    Then you might want to look into the dirk cheap ssrs. They come in kit form but with the mass migration to pixels, I am sure someone may be willing to sell some of their used ones. I think I may even be willing to part with a few. I still use a mix of AC and pixels in my show but most of my show is now pixels.


    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show.
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyX...ttrsZNARkUce0Q

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Not fadeing

    Quote Originally Posted by MartinMueller2003 View Post
    Then you might want to look into the dirk cheap ssrs. They come in kit form but with the mass migration to pixels, I am sure someone may be willing to sell some of their used ones. I think I may even be willing to part with a few. I still use a mix of AC and pixels in my show but most of my show is now pixels.
    How do I connect a dirk up with my system. And how many channels do you have on one dirk

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Hudson MA
    Posts
    3,697
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Not fadeing

    Any controller that drives a dimmable remote SSR. They have an RJ45 connector that is used to send data to it. My Renard controllers use a CAT5/6 cable to go between the controller and the SSR. I have had the SSR as far as 60' from the controller using CAT6 with no visible issues.


    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show.
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyX...ttrsZNARkUce0Q

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Not fadeing

    So could I go into a router then into the ssr


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Hudson MA
    Posts
    3,697
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Not fadeing

    No. The data on the CAT5 cable is a PWM signal that is in sync with the AC line. It is not in any way related to Ethernet (which is what your router is using). The choice of using a CAT5/6 cable gives a few advantages:

    Cables are easy to source (buy or make)
    Cables are pretty cheap
    cables are relatively noise free (read as can go a long way and still work)
    you can control up to four SSR channels easily through them.
    connectors for the pcb are cheap.
    cables store nicely in the off season.


    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show.
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyX...ttrsZNARkUce0Q

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Not fadeing

    Quote Originally Posted by MartinMueller2003 View Post
    No. The data on the CAT5 cable is a PWM signal that is in sync with the AC line. It is not in any way related to Ethernet (which is what your router is using). The choice of using a CAT5/6 cable gives a few advantages:

    Cables are easy to source (buy or make)
    Cables are pretty cheap
    cables are relatively noise free (read as can go a long way and still work)
    you can control up to four SSR channels easily through them.
    connectors for the pcb are cheap.
    cables store nicely in the off season.
    Side note Cat5/6 is Ethernet. You said earlier that you'd be willing to part with some. Are you still willing?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Hudson MA
    Posts
    3,697
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Not fadeing

    Quote Originally Posted by JonnyBeardLighting View Post
    Side note Cat5/6 is Ethernet. You said earlier that you'd be willing to part with some. Are you still willing?
    CAT specifies a cable type (N pairs of twisted wire) 5/6 specifies grade of wire and shielding.

    Ethernet (in its current common usage) describes a level 2 (MAC) protocol stack that used to run primarily over coax (10/100 base-2) but has shifted over time to primarily running over twisted pair wire sets (10/100/1000 base-T) and Wireless (802.11[b/g/n/a/c]).

    For AC SSRs of the SSRez and dirk cheap SSR type, we use the good data quality characteristics of the CAT5/6 cables to carry the PWM signal that is used to trigger the triacs in the SSR. The PWM signal is actually an analog signal with zero and not zero as its primary states. When the voltage on a signal line approaches zero, the circuitry in the AC SSR causes the triac to turn on.

    If you are asking me about selling some of my AC SSRs, yes I would be willing to sell a few of them. You can PM me and we can agree on a price. Depending on how many you want, they would most likely fit in a flat rate US Postal box.


    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show.
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyX...ttrsZNARkUce0Q

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Morrisburg, On, Canada
    Posts
    2,540
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Not fadeing

    Bit late in my response, but SainSmart do make random SSRs (i.e. dimmable).
    See http://www.sainsmart.com/sainsmart-8...ate-relay.html

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    UK S80 postcode
    Posts
    1,404
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Not fadeing

    Hi, I've just cheacked out the spec on these and they look cool but are 220V DC only outputs (they would work with full wave rectified led or incan strings) that are supplied from AC mains that is less than 155V. So fine for the US - don't buy this board if you are in the UK.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •