Thread: How do you set up supports in 3d?

Post Thanks / Like

Default How do you set up supports in 3d?

So I just received a new Sun Hokey Prusa I3 Acrylic a couple of days ago. I've managed to test print several items (Cube, Spiral vase, I simple design of my own), but haven't been able to figure out how to activate supporting for models that are printed from the bottom up that have areas outside the original support structure. Like I said, I'm new to this so I'm not really familiar with the terminology. If you would, imagine a wolf. It's paws and legs are going to print first, followed by it's body, then neck, head, and tail. How do you support the nose of the head and tip of the tail if they are in the downward position like it's eating? Not quit level with the printing base plane, but far enough away from the main model not to connect.

I really hope this makes sense, kind of confused myself.

Any ideas?

Oh Yeah, I'm using Repetier-Host V1.6.2 for printing. I'm also using Slic3r.
    Last edited by CatMan42; 09-03-2016 at 08:44 PM. Reason: additional info
    "There's no such thing as a dumb question, except for the question that was never asked!!"

Mark

2014 4 channel Mr. Christmas unit, 3,000 lights.
    2015: 32 channels, over 7000 lights including 4 singing faces! (updated)

Who the heck knows, I don't!!
    [url]http://pavukchristmas.com[/url]

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: How do you set up supports in 3d?

Something like this....

3D Supporting.JPG
    "There's no such thing as a dumb question, except for the question that was never asked!!"

Mark

Post Thanks / Like

Post Thanks / Like

I actually saw that and tried it to no avial. I'll read through it again. More than likely I missed something!!

Thanks!!

Mark

Post Thanks / Like

here's the other issue I have, Even though I've calibrated the print table numerous times, I get un-even printing. My thought is not enough flow. Is that right?

Mark

Post Thanks / Like