Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Xtrasfering 1.1 to 2.0

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Salmon, Idaho
    Posts
    184
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Xtrasfering 1.1 to 2.0

    I thought I saw this somewhere on here?
    I guess I need to get w/ the program by using 2.0
    I coppied the sequence from 1.1 to the sequence file in 2.0
    then copied the music from 1.1 to 2.0
    open the sequence and ERROR
    also received a ledtricks error as well.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Salmon, Idaho
    Posts
    184
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default error message ??

    *********** Exception Text **************
    System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
    at Vixen.EventSequence.LoadFromXml(XmlNode contextNode)
    at Vixen.EventSequence..ctor(String fileName)
    at StandardSequence.StandardSequence.Open(String filePath)
    at Vixen.Form1.OpenSequence(String fileName)
    at Vixen.Form1.openALightingProgramToolStripMenuItem_ Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.RaiseEvent(Obje ct key, EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripMenuItem.OnClick(Eve ntArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleClick(Eve ntArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleMouseUp(M ouseEventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEventIntera ctive(EventArgs e, ToolStripItemEventType met)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEvent(Event Args e, ToolStripItemEventType met)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.OnMouseUp(MouseEven tArgs mea)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripDropDown.OnMouseUp(M ouseEventArgs mea)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Mes sage& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripDropDown.WndProc(Mes sage& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.O nMessage(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.W ndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


    I must not be moving someything or copy n paste a file from 1.1 to 2.0??

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Apple Valley, MN
    Posts
    3,752
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Xtrasfering 1.1 to 2.0

    Quote Originally Posted by Doug-in-the-woods
    I thought I saw this somewhere on here?
    I guess I need to get w/ the program by using 2.0
    I coppied the sequence from 1.1 to the sequence file in 2.0
    then copied the music from 1.1 to 2.0
    open the sequence and ERROR
    also received a ledtricks error as well.
    You must do this first, before you run Vixen the first time. There is a file that runs the first time that converts everything. When it’s done, it deletes itself, so it will never run again.

    Just reinstall Vixen in the same directory as you did before. When you run it, it will convert everything. There are a lot of backup files that are created in the sequence directory during this process, you only need to save *.VIX files.
    [I]A mediocre person tells. A good person explains. A superior person demonstrates. A great person inspires others to see for themselves.[/I]

    <a href="#" onclick="return(showhide(this));">Click here to show/hide my display details ...</a>
    <script language="javascript">function showhide(anc){ for(; ; ){ if(!anc.nextSibling) break; if(anc.nextSibling.nodeName == "DIV") break; anc = anc.nextSibling; }//<br />
    var Y='block', N='none', det=anc.nextSibling; //<br />
    if (!det) det=document.getElementById('details'); det.style.display=(det.style.display!=N)?N:Y; return false;}</script><div id="details" style="display:none;"><br /><img src="http://www.vixenlights.com/sig/sig_h.php/128/All.gif" border="0" alt="" /></div><a href="#" onclick="return(showhide(this));">Click here to show/hide DIYC Links ...</a>
    <script language="javascript">function showhide(anc){ for(; ; ){ if(!anc.nextSibling) break; if(anc.nextSibling.nodeName == "DIV") break; anc = anc.nextSibling; }//<br />
    var Y='block', N='none', det=anc.nextSibling; //<br />
    if (!det) det=document.getElementById('details'); det.style.display=(det.style.display!=N)?N:Y; return false;}</script><div id="details" style="display:none;"><br /><b>Chat link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/addonchat.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/addonchat.php</a>
    <b>Christmas Wiki link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php</a>
    <b>File Library link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/dynamics/index.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/dynamics/index.php</a>
    <b>Who's in chat?</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/chat/info.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/chat/info.php</a>
    </div>

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Orlando Florida
    Posts
    338
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    The file that runs is called prepare.exe, if you open the zip folder and copy and paste it back into your main vixen folder it will run again and convert the files that need it.

    It was talked about here http://www.doityourselfchristmas.com...opic.php?t=374

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Salmon, Idaho
    Posts
    184
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Must be doing something wrong??

    Downloaded Vixen beta2
    copied/pasted into my xmas display folder
    unziped the folder
    opened vixen
    Get a ledtricks error
    tried creating a new sequence and get ledtrics error again and a DMX error
    Agghh!!!!
    Missing something here
    If and when the Renard C is available will I really need Vixen 2.0 or can I just poke along and use 1.1.
    Running outta asprin and Jack Daniels - LOL
    NOTE when I extracted all the files I did see the one prepare.exe
    Tried opening but it wasn't extracted yet.

    Extracted the folder and opened Vixen and (start from the begining of this post

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Apple Valley, MN
    Posts
    3,752
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    The last that I heard, you can’t drop 2.0 on top of 1.1. 2.0 doesn’t have the ability to upgrade 1.1 software, it only upgrades the sequences. Extract 2.0, copy the 1.1 sequences to the 2.0 sequence directory, then run Vixen.

    You can copy your music files anytime since these wont be changed. Note that these now go into the Audio directory.
    [I]A mediocre person tells. A good person explains. A superior person demonstrates. A great person inspires others to see for themselves.[/I]

    <a href="#" onclick="return(showhide(this));">Click here to show/hide my display details ...</a>
    <script language="javascript">function showhide(anc){ for(; ; ){ if(!anc.nextSibling) break; if(anc.nextSibling.nodeName == "DIV") break; anc = anc.nextSibling; }//<br />
    var Y='block', N='none', det=anc.nextSibling; //<br />
    if (!det) det=document.getElementById('details'); det.style.display=(det.style.display!=N)?N:Y; return false;}</script><div id="details" style="display:none;"><br /><img src="http://www.vixenlights.com/sig/sig_h.php/128/All.gif" border="0" alt="" /></div><a href="#" onclick="return(showhide(this));">Click here to show/hide DIYC Links ...</a>
    <script language="javascript">function showhide(anc){ for(; ; ){ if(!anc.nextSibling) break; if(anc.nextSibling.nodeName == "DIV") break; anc = anc.nextSibling; }//<br />
    var Y='block', N='none', det=anc.nextSibling; //<br />
    if (!det) det=document.getElementById('details'); det.style.display=(det.style.display!=N)?N:Y; return false;}</script><div id="details" style="display:none;"><br /><b>Chat link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/addonchat.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/addonchat.php</a>
    <b>Christmas Wiki link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php</a>
    <b>File Library link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/dynamics/index.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/dynamics/index.php</a>
    <b>Who's in chat?</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/chat/info.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/chat/info.php</a>
    </div>

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Salmon, Idaho
    Posts
    184
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default The 1.1 and 2.0 are in same folder but show as seperate prog

    have a folder named xmasdisplay
    under that (sub folder is vixen 1.1 then another 2 subfolders named vixen 2.0 beta2 and vixen 2.0 beta 2 (2) 2nd copy.
    perhaps creat a seperate folder altogether and download 2.0 then extract the zip file to named folder
    at present the 2.0 version I have looks like everything is there but it has errors.
    The file you sent me works fine - THanks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •