Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CG-1500 3" Fan Cover

Post Thanks / Like

Default CG-1500 3" Fan Cover

Before I go to far, I need to give credit to the following posts in inspiring me on designing my own ventilation for the CG-1500.

http://doityourselfchristmas.com/for...-house-outline

http://doityourselfchristmas.com/for...lation-project

As with everything I am designing including my snowflakes found here: http://doityourselfchristmas.com/for...-a-center-star I will be sharing this on thingiverse and thinkercad.

I'm not very good at working with metal but I wanted to be able to ventilate my CG-1500's as they will have 2 power supplies in each of them and living in So Cal it can get hot even in December. My idea is to have 2 3" fans, one as an inlet the other as an outlet to create a convention aspect. Here are the pictures of the working prototype. My question to you is this, what other aspects should I be taking in to consideration as a final design. Personally I think I need to add leavers for drainage but want to make sure I am covering all basis.

WP_20160328_19_15_45_Pro.jpg

WP_20160328_19_15_59_Pro.jpg

WP_20160328_19_18_15_Pro.jpg

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: CG-1500 3" Fan Cover

Ingress of stuff--dust, bugs, etc--that could end up causing your PSUs to heat up because their fans are then not able to move any air... Just a thought... Maybe put some really coarse /AC filter material on the incoming air...

Post Thanks / Like

That is a good point, I'm thinking weed paper might work.

Post Thanks / Like

I'm following this thread with interest. "Weed Paper"?
    Live, Laugh, Love.

Post Thanks / Like

It's better to have the fan suck the air out of the case rather than push it in and don't forget inlets for the air to enter.

Post Thanks / Like

That is the direction I am starting to lean towards. I'm going to update the design to accommodate a 120 MM fan (4 in) and see how it looks.

Post Thanks / Like