Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 47

Thread: E682 irmware for RGBW Pixels

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Kansas City Missouri
    Posts
    2,578
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: E682 irmware for RGBW Pixels

    Quote Originally Posted by TomsLEDs View Post
    I got all that except the green red alternating flash at the end. My adapter is on its way. Hopefully this is the correct one.Attachment 43246
    Yup, that's it. Check post #7 forvthe software.

    Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    University Place. WA
    Posts
    82
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: E682 irmware for RGBW Pixels

    Well no joy on the usb serial adapter. The adapter is detected on comm 4 but cant find the Propellor chip. I had a problem with the initial build with the cpu identification jumpers. I'm thinking something may have been damaged to identify the chip even though it fully functions with the V4.08 firmware. If Jim is not able to sell me an upgraded eeprom, I guess i am stuck on 4 and won't be able to adjust pixel frequencies.
    Love LEDs!

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Novi, MI
    Posts
    415
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: E682 irmware for RGBW Pixels

    The board has to be powered up.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    University Place. WA
    Posts
    82
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: E682 irmware for RGBW Pixels

    Oh it was powered up. All the LEDs were lit. Nothing was plugged into it other than the USB adapter, and the test pattern box was 0 or off. It's just not recognizing the chip.
    Love LEDs!

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Kansas City Missouri
    Posts
    2,578
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: E682 irmware for RGBW Pixels

    Quote Originally Posted by TomsLEDs View Post
    Oh it was powered up. All the LEDs were lit. Nothing was plugged into it other than the USB adapter, and the test pattern box was 0 or off. It's just not recognizing the chip.
    Not to insinuate anything but did you power both sides of the board? Sometimes it's the missed little things that get us.

    Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Novi, MI
    Posts
    415
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: E682 irmware for RGBW Pixels

    Tom: you mentioned CPU identification jumpers. I think those are the eeprom jumpers. How about snapping a high res photo of the front and back of board and maybe we can for some things that could help.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Kansas City Missouri
    Posts
    2,578
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: E682 irmware for RGBW Pixels

    Jumper should be on atml.

    Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    University Place. WA
    Posts
    82
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: E682 irmware for RGBW Pixels

    Sorry just saw this. Yes those are the ones. Let me do some inspection and see if something is up with the solder.
    Love LEDs!

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Novi, MI
    Posts
    415
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: E682 irmware for RGBW Pixels

    Quote Originally Posted by TomsLEDs View Post
    Sorry just saw this. Yes those are the ones. Let me do some inspection and see if something is up with the solder.
    I'd look at component orientation too. There are several parts that can easily be installed backwards, when they really only work in one direction. And they only way you know is by close examination of the component or looking at the length of the lead prior to soldering. Ya, I found out the hard way.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    University Place. WA
    Posts
    82
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: E682 irmware for RGBW Pixels

    So never got anywhere with updating the eeprom. I decided to move on and try a full load test on the sans with everything I had ready as I have only ran one string or matrix at a time. I ended up placing the GE sting on section 4 by itself. To my surprise the pixels became responsive with just a few flickering. Then I dropped the pixel length from 90 to 70 and more of them became solid. Took it all the way down to 60 and now they respond perfectly. So I really don't need V5 firmware afterall.

    One question is in section 3 I have 4 pixel strips. 2 of one brand and 2 of another. The first 2 follow the RGB pattern, the 2bd two have red and green reversed, but blue is the same. Is this some I can correct in Vixen?
    GE Pixels.jpg
    Love LEDs!

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •