Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 41 to 47 of 47

Thread: E682 irmware for RGBW Pixels

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Kansas City Missouri
    Posts
    2,578
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: E682 irmware for RGBW Pixels

    Quote Originally Posted by TomsLEDs View Post
    So never got anywhere with updating the eeprom. I decided to move on and try a full load test on the sans with everything I had ready as I have only ran one string or matrix at a time. I ended up placing the GE sting on section 4 by itself. To my surprise the pixels became responsive with just a few flickering. Then I dropped the pixel length from 90 to 70 and more of them became solid. Took it all the way down to 60 and now they respond perfectly. So I really don't need V5 firmware afterall.

    One question is in section 3 I have 4 pixel strips. 2 of one brand and 2 of another. The first 2 follow the RGB pattern, the 2bd two have red and green reversed, but blue is the same. Is this some I can correct in Vixen?
    Attachment 43282
    Did you ever get in touch with Jim about the programing?
    Sounds like you need power injection if you have to drop to 60 pixels to get them working. Yes, you can color assign pixels in Vixen. I looked at your setup for the controller and you skipped universe 5. Also, outputs 3-1 to 3-4 are using universes 8,9,10,11 yet on output 4-1 you are using universe 9. Can't do that. Here is what it should look like.4.081.png

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    University Place. WA
    Posts
    82
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: E682 irmware for RGBW Pixels

    Thanks, I did not notice section 2 jumped to 6. What happens sometimes as I am making changes, and even though I am changing one item at a time, the page will display no connection like I refreshed it. Then when it loads some items will default to values I did not enter. One example is section 3 will default to universe 3 when I had something higher. If it does not fault out, it keeps the settings I have entered. Jim, said the same things in a couple emails that were already suggested here. I guess he doesn't have a way to send me an updated eeprom, but he has never said so directly; so I can only guess.
    Love LEDs!

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Kansas City Missouri
    Posts
    2,578
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: E682 irmware for RGBW Pixels

    Quote Originally Posted by TomsLEDs View Post
    Thanks, I did not notice section 2 jumped to 6. What happens sometimes as I am making changes, and even though I am changing one item at a time, the page will display no connection like I refreshed it. Then when it loads some items will default to values I did not enter. One example is section 3 will default to universe 3 when I had something higher. If it does not fault out, it keeps the settings I have entered. Jim, said the same things in a couple emails that were already suggested here. I guess he doesn't have a way to send me an updated eeprom, but he has never said so directly; so I can only guess.
    You must hit update everytime you change a line. So if you make a change to anything in 1-1 to 1-4 you can't change something in 2-1 to 2-4 and then hit update. It won't work. It will only update the line you hit update on. Unless there's something wrong with the eeprom chip it should update. So, let's do this. Message me your address. I have a spare 682 here. I'll send you the eeprom but I would like the one you have. Mine is mounted in a socket so it's easy to take out. How does that sound? I may even have a spare socket so you won't have to solder the chip to the board.

    Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    University Place. WA
    Posts
    82
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: E682 irmware for RGBW Pixels

    PM sent. Thank you very much for helping me!!

    So I got the settings updated where they should be; powered down and then back up. Noticed I still had test #15 running. I zeroed it and it crashed. The pic attached is what values it showed when it came back up. Seems to move section 3 values the most.

    Crash.jpg

    I now realize I have a serious problem with the 3rd bank. It will not hold any of the values I enter after power down. I am going t examine that area and see if I can detect anything.
    Last edited by TomsLEDs; 09-25-2020 at 10:32 PM.
    Love LEDs!

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Kansas City Missouri
    Posts
    2,578
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: E682 irmware for RGBW Pixels

    Did you enable test 15 or did it do it by itself? Check and make sure all IC pins are in mounts. Sometimes a pin will bend outwards not making contact.

    Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk
    Last edited by pmiller; Yesterday at 12:26 AM.

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Novi, MI
    Posts
    415
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: E682 irmware for RGBW Pixels

    Quote Originally Posted by pmiller View Post
    Check and make sure all IC pins are in mounts. Sometimes a pin will bend outwards not making contact.
    Tom, these are all highly unusual symptoms, and at this point I'm not sure an eeprom replacement, if you could even have got one, would resolve this. I believe that this is likely caused by an assembly error as pmiller suggests regarding ICs. The prop plug not detecting a CPU is very suspect. That programmer doesn't even require 99.99% of the stuff on the board to talk to the chip., Inserting a 40 pin chip into a socket is tricky and soldering a socket in is another place where I would be spending time looking for the problem. It's not going to be reliable in its present state.

    Screen Shot 2020-09-26 at 9.28.55 AM.jpg

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    University Place. WA
    Posts
    82
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: E682 irmware for RGBW Pixels

    That is something that has puzzled me that it's not detecting the microcontroller, yet it is operational except the group 3 error. The only chip that is non-volatile is the eeprom. Everything else dies when power is removed. This is why I believe the eeprom is damaged goods. Mr. Miller has a test chip for me to try. We shall see what develops. Thank you for responding iflights.
    Love LEDs!

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •