Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pixel Strip Durability

Post Thanks / Like

Default Pixel Strip Durability

Hello all,

I haven't been able to find a clear answer so I thought I'd ask.

This is my first year using pixels strips on my house. I'm using WS2812 5V strips in the silicone sleeves from Ray Wu. I used dumb RGBs last year but took them down right after Christmas since I knew I was upgrading.

I have the strips mounted to the house using the little silicone clips that Ray Wu sells. I have soldered on the waterproof plugs that Ray Wu sells. Put on the little silicone end caps on all ends. And used 100% silicone to seal off the ends.

Also, these lights are on the west facing side of the house. Facing directly outward. Not down or up.

My question is how durable can I expect these to really be? Is it reasonable to plan on leaving them up year round? Or should I plan on taking them down after winter? Does the silicone sleeve degrade in the sun/UV? Do the LEDs themselves degrade in the sun/UV? The flexible circuit board? The end caps or plugs? Or the silicone used to seal them? I really have no idea. It would be kind of a pain to take them down now that I've got the silicone clips all nailed into the house, but if I need to I will.

Hopefully someone has some experience and can give me an idea.

Thanks!
    James (MrRocketman)

James

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Pixel Strip Durability

Of course no one answered. I don't recall the results but over at Australia Christmas Lighting forum a couple of people have done some extensive testing. It would be worth your while to join and search for them.
    2009 - 48 channel MegaTree 4800 lights
    plus 3200 lights static display.
    2010 - 6 Snowflakes on heavy equipment stored in front yard :-(
    2011 - 72 channel Megatree 7520 lights,
    120 channel total about 10k lights total

Post Thanks / Like