Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Renard SS24 - Flashed chips not working

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Burlington, NC
    Posts
    49
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Renard SS24 - Flashed chips not working

    [URL="http://www.facebook.com/MapleRidgeLights"]http://www.facebook.com/MapleRidgeLights[/URL]

    2014: 4 static incandescent strings & 2 inflatables
    2015: Over 9000 pixel channels & 72 Renard channels. 3 E682 controllers, 3 Renard SS24s and E1.31 bridge. House & windows covered in pixels! 4 HDPE arches, 11ft pixel tree & star, 12 LED mini-trees, 8 LED snowflakes, 2 4' LED Candy Canes, Chroma-cane and various LED strings in trees & yard. Xlights / FPP run the show!
    2016: My CLAP is telling me to go BIGGER!

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mooresville, NC
    Posts
    7,567
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Renard SS24 - Flashed chips not working

    My question is, why do you keep using the "blank check" feature? It has nothing to do with what you need accomplished.
    At this point, you should pick up some new PICs and try.
    James Family Christmas - 1600 channels of SS Renard channels
    Website - http://jamesfamilychristmas.com/ <<broken
    Facebook - James Family Christmas


  3. #13
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mooresville, NC
    Posts
    7,567
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Renard SS24 - Flashed chips not working

    Okay... here is somethings I see.............

    First, uncheck the MCLR and try a 4.9 voltage (copy my picture)

    Second, In your "Source" box, I never see the firmware loaded. look at my step two pic.

    After programming, stop, remove the pic, nothing else needs done.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    James Family Christmas - 1600 channels of SS Renard channels
    Website - http://jamesfamilychristmas.com/ <<broken
    Facebook - James Family Christmas


  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Burlington, NC
    Posts
    49
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Renard SS24 - Flashed chips not working

    Thanks Wayne! It may be tomorrow before I can try again, but I'll try what you suggested.

    ...and I won't do a blank check!
    [URL="http://www.facebook.com/MapleRidgeLights"]http://www.facebook.com/MapleRidgeLights[/URL]

    2014: 4 static incandescent strings & 2 inflatables
    2015: Over 9000 pixel channels & 72 Renard channels. 3 E682 controllers, 3 Renard SS24s and E1.31 bridge. House & windows covered in pixels! 4 HDPE arches, 11ft pixel tree & star, 12 LED mini-trees, 8 LED snowflakes, 2 4' LED Candy Canes, Chroma-cane and various LED strings in trees & yard. Xlights / FPP run the show!
    2016: My CLAP is telling me to go BIGGER!

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Burlington, NC
    Posts
    49
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Renard SS24 - Flashed chips not working

    OK... Finally found time to try again. Success!

    I guess the problem was my fault, but it's also due to the fact that the pickit software is NOT very intuitive / user friendly.

    Here's what was happening...

    I loaded the first chip (of 6). I performed an ERASE because I read that you should always do that first. Then I clicked FILE, IMPORT HEX, and selected the Renard hex file. The SOURCE box in the pickit software showed the hex file as expected. I flashed the chip, and it was successful.

    Then I loaded the 2nd chip & performed an ERASE. However, the ERASE function caused the SOURCE box to become blank! ...and I didn't notice it when I flashed the chips in the past. Since I didn't notice, I proceeded to flash the remaining 5 chips with NOTHING! That's why I had 1 good chip, and 5 blank chips.

    So when I re-flashed them today I had to re-import the hex file after erasing, and before writing each of the chips. What's up with that? Once I load a file, it should STAY THERE! That's just crappy software IMHO.

    When I clicked ERASE, my intent was to erase THE CHIP, not the imported file! Very confusing!

    Hopefully my experience will help other people who run into this issue & find this post.

    Thanks again to all who helped!

    I can't wait to see all the kids' smiling faces when the lights are shining brightly!
    [URL="http://www.facebook.com/MapleRidgeLights"]http://www.facebook.com/MapleRidgeLights[/URL]

    2014: 4 static incandescent strings & 2 inflatables
    2015: Over 9000 pixel channels & 72 Renard channels. 3 E682 controllers, 3 Renard SS24s and E1.31 bridge. House & windows covered in pixels! 4 HDPE arches, 11ft pixel tree & star, 12 LED mini-trees, 8 LED snowflakes, 2 4' LED Candy Canes, Chroma-cane and various LED strings in trees & yard. Xlights / FPP run the show!
    2016: My CLAP is telling me to go BIGGER!

  6. Likes TazChaLet liked this post
  7. #16
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mooresville, NC
    Posts
    7,567
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Renard SS24 - Flashed chips not working

    Here is the deal, if you read the instructions of the pickit, it does an erase before it does the write on it's own. ;) So no need to add the steps you have been adding. Following my video verbatim would give successful results every time.

    Glad you got it done.
    James Family Christmas - 1600 channels of SS Renard channels
    Website - http://jamesfamilychristmas.com/ <<broken
    Facebook - James Family Christmas


  8. Likes TazChaLet liked this post
  9. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Gaithersburg, MD
    Posts
    225
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Renard SS24 - Flashed chips not working

    Hi Rob,

    I am preparing to do the same and your notes are great! Thank for the intel.
    2016 Migrating to Vixen 3.2
    Vixen 2.5x
    120 Channels
    2015 5 RenardSS24 @ 20,600 lights
    2014 5 RenardSS24 @ 18,600 lights
    2013 3 RenardSS24 @ 9,900 lights
    2012 2 RenardSS24 @ 6,000 lights
    2011 began researching
    [url]www.KentlandsChristmas.com[/url]

  10. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Burlington, NC
    Posts
    49
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Renard SS24 - Flashed chips not working

    Quote Originally Posted by MikelMD View Post
    Hi Rob,

    I am preparing to do the same and your notes are great! Thank for the intel.
    Cool! Glad it helped! My Renards are still running strong after finally getting the chips flashed, so hopefully that will be a simple task for you.
    [URL="http://www.facebook.com/MapleRidgeLights"]http://www.facebook.com/MapleRidgeLights[/URL]

    2014: 4 static incandescent strings & 2 inflatables
    2015: Over 9000 pixel channels & 72 Renard channels. 3 E682 controllers, 3 Renard SS24s and E1.31 bridge. House & windows covered in pixels! 4 HDPE arches, 11ft pixel tree & star, 12 LED mini-trees, 8 LED snowflakes, 2 4' LED Candy Canes, Chroma-cane and various LED strings in trees & yard. Xlights / FPP run the show!
    2016: My CLAP is telling me to go BIGGER!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •