Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25

Thread: External Power Supply Info

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Stockton, California
    Posts
    49
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by teberle
    David,

    Not all power atx power supplies are huge. what size are the approx. dimensions needed.
    See photograph below
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Stockton, California
    Posts
    49
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Macrosill
    David,
    I purchased a 5v psu from ebay for around 15.00 shipped.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=170115611542
    Hi Brian,

    Wouldn't a psu like this work (see attached picture & data sheet)??

    These make good bench supplies, because they:

    1. have a monitor LED that's visible from the top
    2. have an on/off switch
    3. don't require any minimum load like PC power supplies do
    4. have good regulation (±1% line, ±5% load)
    5. have good efficiency
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #13
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Apple Valley, MN
    Posts
    3,768
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    They also:
    1. Don’t need a fan.
    2. Semi water resistant
    3. Are more astatically pleasing
    [I]A mediocre person tells. A good person explains. A superior person demonstrates. A great person inspires others to see for themselves.[/I]

    <a href="#" onclick="return(showhide(this));">Click here to show/hide my display details ...</a>
    <script language="javascript">function showhide(anc){ for(; ; ){ if(!anc.nextSibling) break; if(anc.nextSibling.nodeName == "DIV") break; anc = anc.nextSibling; }//<br />
    var Y='block', N='none', det=anc.nextSibling; //<br />
    if (!det) det=document.getElementById('details'); det.style.display=(det.style.display!=N)?N:Y; return false;}</script><div id="details" style="display:none;"><br /><img src="http://www.vixenlights.com/sig/sig_h.php/128/All.gif" border="0" alt="" /></div><a href="#" onclick="return(showhide(this));">Click here to show/hide DIYC Links ...</a>
    <script language="javascript">function showhide(anc){ for(; ; ){ if(!anc.nextSibling) break; if(anc.nextSibling.nodeName == "DIV") break; anc = anc.nextSibling; }//<br />
    var Y='block', N='none', det=anc.nextSibling; //<br />
    if (!det) det=document.getElementById('details'); det.style.display=(det.style.display!=N)?N:Y; return false;}</script><div id="details" style="display:none;"><br /><b>Chat link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/addonchat.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/addonchat.php</a>
    <b>Christmas Wiki link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php</a>
    <b>File Library link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/dynamics/index.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/dynamics/index.php</a>
    <b>Who's in chat?</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/chat/info.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/chat/info.php</a>
    </div>

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    7,690
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    David,
    That would work fine. Just be sure that it meets the power requirements for the Ledtriks panel.
    Thanks,
    Brian, your friendly site Admin.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,079
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I have not measure the Panle at 100% LED on, but I would be shocked it the current draw was more than 3 Amps. Anyone put a Multimeter on their panel yet? to test the load current in operation.

    John.
    [B]John[/B]
    [url]www.xmasinmelb.com[/url] General Site
    [url]www.xmasinmelb.com/zencart/[/url] Online Store

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Stockton, California
    Posts
    49
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Macrosill
    David,
    That would work fine. Just be sure that it meets the power requirements for the Ledtriks panel.
    I couldn't find any information on the power requirements for the LEDTRIKS;

    P = v * i
    = 5v * 3A
    = 15 W

    Does anyone have (or measured) the load current when the panel is on? Does it draw anything near 3A at +5V?

    David
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    7,690
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I believe the "fully on" power consumption is about 4 amps. That is a worst case scenario if for some reason things locked up and all the leds came on and stayed on.
    Thanks,
    Brian, your friendly site Admin.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Battle Creek, MI
    Posts
    20
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wjohn
    I have not measure the Panle at 100% LED on, but I would be shocked it the current draw was more than 3 Amps. Anyone put a Multimeter on their panel yet? to test the load current in operation.

    John.
    I got about 840 milliamps with 100% of the LEDs on. When I was running some text across the board, the current varied between 50-200mA.

    Michael

  9. #19
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Waterboro Maine
    Posts
    1,020
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I’m not one to question someone’s results but....

    RJ posted in his how-to over at computer Christmas
    On page 2 that the board Can use up to 4 amps

    This may happen if the Pc locks up or freezes and the leds are
    No longer being refreshed at 80 plus times a second so remember
    There are things going on during the operation of the panel that
    Most are not aware of such as the leds are being driven with much
    More current than they are designed for but only for 1/16 duty cycle
    ( I believe they are 20ma leds and they are driven at 80 ma at 1/16 duty cycle)
    Any questions about power consumption of the ledtriks should be forwarded to RJ directly
    when in doubt ask the guy who developed it.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Avon Park Florida
    Posts
    672
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I would say you will be fine. When I first built the board I pushed it much harder than I let you guys to see when it would start killing Leds. Then I turned the current down for the best compromise I could get between not killing leds and brightness. Before we turned the current down the panel had a peak of 4 amps for a couple of microseconds just as the switching happend. You power supply would not mind this as the output caps will absorb it. After the peak it would fall to around 1.5 amps. After that we dropped the current so its well within you p/s capability. So have fun!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •