Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Vixen 3 Very Slow

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    North Richland Hills TX
    Posts
    629
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Vixen 3 Very Slow

    I am attempting to run Vixen 3 on a Quad Core with 16GB RAM. I did a clean install and am attempting to work on a brand new sequence. All controllers are off, and the application spends most of the time in "Not Responding" mode. During these period I have checked memory, cpu, and disk usage which are all very low.

    Any assistance?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Winter Haven Florida
    Posts
    3,039
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 3 Very Slow

    I get this at times and come too find out I reboot and have a install of some sort coming in
    James WinterHaven Fl

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Chicago - Southwest Suburbs
    Posts
    7,732
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 3 Very Slow

    is windows update trying to to download/install updates? If you look in task manager I think it's something like WUAUxxx.exe You might also see TrustedInstaller in there. Those are clues that Microsoft is sucking the life out of your computer while it does maintenance.

  4. Likes TazChaLet liked this post
  5. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    North Richland Hills TX
    Posts
    629
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 3 Very Slow

    Nope all turned off. This is a dedicated machine I setup just to run vixen. Windows7. Resource monitor shows no network traffic, no anti-virus as well.

    Only thing running on box is Vixen and 4 cores at 3.55mhz available.
    Last edited by stampedeboss; 08-28-2015 at 05:47 PM. Reason: Additional details

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Chicago - Southwest Suburbs
    Posts
    7,732
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 3 Very Slow

    What are your top memory and CPU processes? How close is vixen to the top of that list?


    --Jon Chuchla--

    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    North Richland Hills TX
    Posts
    629
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 3 Very Slow

    Yes they are the top but only 25%-30%

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    North Richland Hills TX
    Posts
    629
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 3 Very Slow

    Sequences is only 52 seconds long.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Chicago - Southwest Suburbs
    Posts
    7,732
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 3 Very Slow

    That's high enough to be notable.
    So let's get more specific. What's your machine specs? Processor (make and model) ram, os? What is your screen resolution? How many monitors?
    What are the specs on your display setup. How many elements? How many controller channels? What kind of controllers?



    --Jon Chuchla--

    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    North Richland Hills TX
    Posts
    629
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 3 Very Slow

    Dual monitors at 1920x1080. AMD Phenom II X4 965 at 3.4 ghz, ram 16gb, Windows7

    Display
    41742 patch points 99% pixel all e1.31

    Only 1 controller is defined for megatree which is 24x60 pixel.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    North Richland Hills TX
    Posts
    629
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 3 Very Slow

    Also, appears the Mark Manager page in the documentation isn't working. Trying remember how to generate effect from Marks.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •