Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: I need input about using fake trees for minis

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    374
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default I need input about using fake trees for minis

    Hey guys. My mini tree idea fell through. I'm in a but of a panic trying to figure out what to do. I made all of my sequences to accommodate 8 mini trees with 50 to 60 rbg nodes each. I had originally planned to use tomato cages and wrap the rgb nodes around then, but they look terrible. I was thinking about buying some white, fake trees. Maybe 2ft to 3ft tall. I'm afraid they won't last long outside seeing as they are made for indoor use only. I was watching some sequences where people used white trees with rgb nodes and I love the look of the "glowing" tree. I live in central Illinois and am afraid they won't last long. What do to guys think?

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    374
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I need input about using fake trees for minis

    I was thinking about something like this

    http://www.christmascentral.com/p-36...ree-unlit.aspx

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Kennesaw, GA
    Posts
    926
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I need input about using fake trees for minis

    Why not buy the medium mini trees from Boscoyo studios. I use them as a 180 tree with 50 nodes for the tree and 10 in the star.
    Jim Nealand
    Kennesaw, Ga

  4. Likes bullets liked this post
  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Falcon, CO
    Posts
    1,014
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I need input about using fake trees for minis

    I use the Walmart artificial trees for last 3 years. I have them out from Dec 1 to Jan 2 and they have lasted. I like them. They look nice during the day. I used to use tomato cages and switched for same reason as you.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    374
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I need input about using fake trees for minis

    Dpitts, what kind of weather do you have? Last year my props were covered in ice when I brought them in so...

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Xenia, Ohio
    Posts
    1,354
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I need input about using fake trees for minis

    I also use the 6' Wal-mart trees. I cut the base off of them and just slip them over rebar. Easy and no problems with wind knocking them over. Picked them up for $7.50 each two years ago, retail was $49.00. They look like evergreens growing in the yard.

    Attached Images Attached Images
    [COLOR=#008000]2016 - 5th. year - Over 18,000 channels E1.31 including 350 Channels Renard, Video Projection - XL/NC - On Falcon Player, up to four megatrees.
    [/COLOR][COLOR=#008000]2017 - 6th. year - Moved display to a public park, Over 45,000 E1.31 channels, down to 100 Channels of serial Renard - XLights running on Falcon Player on a raspberry PI.[/COLOR][COLOR=#008000]
    2018 - 7th, year - Still at Shawnee Park, over 52,000 E1.31 channels, down to 96 channels of Renard - [/COLOR][COLOR=#008000]XLights running on Falcon Player on a raspberry PI.
    [/COLOR][COLOR=#008000]
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    [/COLOR]
    Randy: X[URL="http://www.xenialights.com/"]enialights[/URL] on [URL="https://www.facebook.com/pages/XeniaLights/420036314711206"]Facebook[/URL]

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Falcon, CO
    Posts
    1,014
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I need input about using fake trees for minis

    Quote Originally Posted by mberta2 View Post
    Dpitts, what kind of weather do you have? Last year my props were covered in ice when I brought them in so...

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
    I live in Colorado Springs at 7000ft elevation. Rarely get ice though and the snow is super dry. But many times I need to dig out the mini trees because they are buried in 1-2 feet of snow.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Pleasant Prairie, WI
    Posts
    1,102
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I need input about using fake trees for minis

    If have some V1 strips from James, was planning on wrapping 54" tomato cages with them. I have more than enough V1 strips I'd give u a deal on. When I tested them, they were nice and straight. PM if you wanna work something out.
    2012: 24 channels with 1 Renardss24 * 2013: 48 channels with 2 Renardss24's * 2014: Took the year off * 2015: Life Got in the Way
    2016: 1000 Channels for Halloween, mix of A/C, RGB, Pixels. Christmas over 17 universes, all Pixels, oh boy...

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    374
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I need input about using fake trees for minis

    I have a ton of mounting strips from holidaycoro. I ordered 75-94" sections when i was building my pixel tree. I knew they went fast so i bought like 3x more than i needed.I thought about using them but I'm not sure how I would do it. I am interested in the 180 trees from boscoyo. Anyone have pics of them?

    Sent from my SM-T530NU using Tapatalk

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Mentor, OH
    Posts
    1,145
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I need input about using fake trees for minis

    Quote Originally Posted by Xenia View Post
    I also use the 6' Wal-mart trees. I cut the base off of them and just slip them over rebar. Easy and no problems with wind knocking them over. Picked them up for $7.50 each two years ago, retail was $49.00. They look like evergreens growing in the yard.


    Xenia, where's the snow? Are you setup for this year already?
    Chuck P
    nothing to show

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •