Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Labeling cords

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,609
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Labeling cords

    What do most of you do to label your different wires.....I'm thinking through my leapers and will have 56 channels....wasn't planning on using plugs so I'll have 56 sets of wires to keep track of.....

    There has to be something out there that I can attach to make this easy....I thought of a label maker but figured those little tape labels would just come unglued in the rain and fall off......

    I just can't think of what else to use....any thoughts?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    3,750
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Labeling cords


  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,179
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Labeling cords

    Who would've thought we'd ever be able to make blinky flashy on a MacBook Air? Thank you xLights!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Under the bed...
    Posts
    548
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Labeling cords

    The wire number tape is available at most home supply places in the electrical tools area. For some of the label makers they make a special wire wrap label tape that is nylon that will not come off like the regular plasic label can. We use the nylon tape at work to label network cables.
    Even Twitter has 140

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mooresville, NC
    Posts
    7,589
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Labeling cords

    A Sharpie and cloth duct tape is wonderful. (it's what I use)
    James Family Christmas - 1600 channels of SS Renard channels
    Website - http://jamesfamilychristmas.com/ <<broken
    Facebook - James Family Christmas


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Mechanicsville, VA
    Posts
    1,072
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Labeling cords

    Quote Originally Posted by Wayne J View Post
    A Sharpie and cloth duct tape is wonderful. (it's what I use)
    I either do that or I use colored electrical tape. I did that last year by taking a white stripe and writing a # on that. the number was the number wire for that color and the electrical tape color represented the light color.

    Ben
    128 lynx Freestyle DMX channels(not all used), 4 SSR4 DMX channels, 120 Ren24 channels, and 48 Ren16 channels!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Spencer Iowa
    Posts
    1,236
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Labeling cords

    Tape will fall off.
    Sharpie markers are NOT permanent.

    Place it in the sun, rain, and snow. Throw it in the mud and almost all markers have faded or are unreadable after only a single season.

    The only thing that I have found that lasts is the old style DYMO embossing labelers.

    I know its low tech and not very sexy but it has worked for me.

    Joel
    Lets get serious, I have over 10,000 channels on my back, just where do you want to start counting.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    traralgon vic australia
    Posts
    168
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Labeling cords

    Quote Originally Posted by jrock64 View Post
    Tape will fall off.
    Sharpie markers are NOT permanent.

    Place it in the sun, rain, and snow. Throw it in the mud and almost all markers have faded or are unreadable after only a single season.

    The only thing that I have found that lasts is the old style DYMO embossing labelers.

    I know its low tech and not very sexy but it has worked for me.

    Joel
    yeah that is part true but it may not be exposed

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Cowes, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    603
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Labeling cords

    Quote Originally Posted by Wayne J View Post
    A Sharpie and cloth duct tape is wonderful. (it's what I use)
    Gee thats a little low tech Wayne:p
    Kevin Lang

    64 Channel Olsen 595 64 Channel Grinch 4 Xmus Ren16's

    Running Acer P4 3.0 GHz and 1.00GB Ram Win XP

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Fishers, Indiana
    Posts
    607
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Labeling cords

    I use a Brother P-Touch labeler with wire tape.
    "Think you might be over doing it dad?" "When was the last time I over did anything?"
    [url]http://www.joneslights.com/[/url]

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •