Page 1 of 25 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 251

Thread: Can the CG-1500 Enclosure Be Improved?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    913
    Post Thanks / Like

    Question Can the CG-1500 Enclosure Be Improved?

    As most are aware, the CG-1500 and it's variant designs are the go-to controller for enclosure mounting for a wide variety of controller types. That said, it has some issues given that it isn't designed exactly for our community (it is a CATV housing) - some of those issues are:

    * Lack of 3/4" or 1" Knock-outs for cable clamps or a good clamping system for outgoing cables
    * Less than optional mounting methods (tabs outside the box, etc)
    * No method for mounting a fan for exhaust when needed
    * Less than ideal nesting for lower cost shipping
    * Better options for enclosure locking
    * Options for labelling or controller indication markings
    * Unpredictable sourcing issues and lead times (mainly a vendor issue) and single source dependency
    * Lack of visual options (clear doors for seeing controller LED's and LCD's)
    * Lack of options for harsh environments (salt water, high humidity, etc) / gaskets

    I'm considering development of a community specific controller for 2016 and would like to see if there is sufficient demand to have a 15-20k mold build and a container or two of these enclosures shipped over from China. I'd love to get feedback on what you do and don't like about the CG-1500 enclosure and how you think it could be improved or what should stay the same.

    Thanks,
    David
    HolidayCoro.com

  2. Likes MatthewM liked this post
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Lake elsinore, CA
    Posts
    297
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Can the CG-1500 Enclosure Be Improved?

    David, I think you have done a good job identifying the shortcoming of the CG1500. I would love something in this size that has much better capabilities for the external wiring and a clear top would be great..

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alexandria, KY
    Posts
    144
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Can the CG-1500 Enclosure Be Improved?

    Is someone could create an adapter ring where the bottom half of two CG-1500 could be sandwich together, then you would have tons of room.

  5. Likes Robo liked this post
  6. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Eagan, Mn.
    Posts
    3,949
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Can the CG-1500 Enclosure Be Improved?

    Quote Originally Posted by NkySpike65 View Post
    Is someone could create an adapter ring where the bottom half of two CG-1500 could be sandwich together, then you would have tons of room.
    The lid of the 1500 is pretty deep. Lots of people have mounted item in the lid. I would suggest either make the lid shallower so it's just a lid. Or make the inside flat with mounting bosses to mount things.
    2009 - 48 channel MegaTree 4800 lights
    plus 3200 lights static display.
    2010 - 6 Snowflakes on heavy equipment stored in front yard :-(
    2011 - 72 channel Megatree 7520 lights,
    120 channel total about 10k lights total

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    913
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Can the CG-1500 Enclosure Be Improved?

    Quote Originally Posted by Skunberg View Post
    The lid of the 1500 is pretty deep. Lots of people have mounted item in the lid. I would suggest either make the lid shallower so it's just a lid. Or make the inside flat with mounting bosses to mount things.
    On factor that is important to those that have to pay to ship these is nesting of the base and lid. Currently the CG-1500 can slightly nest but not perfectly like you might have with soda cups. So to get optimal nesting, likely the lid and base would need to be close to the same depth.

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    876
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Can the CG-1500 Enclosure Be Improved?

    for mounting plates, I would like the lid hole spacing to be the same as the rear spacing, or just mould in a pair of clips to hold a mounting plate in.

    I've been frustrated with taking cables in and out, besides your knockouts for clamping, an option to have a split foam that one half was on the lid and one half on the bottom that would pinch around the cables when it closes.

    Perhaps a spot for a temp sensor to clip into, a couple of controllers support them.

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    RAF Wittering
    Posts
    272
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Can the CG-1500 Enclosure Be Improved?

    Direct shipping from China to the UK would help me out lol

    And everything else you have mentioned

    Stephen
    2016 pixel power RAF Wittering soon to be RAF Akrotiri
    Second new house in 12 months

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    913
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Can the CG-1500 Enclosure Be Improved?

    Quote Originally Posted by kartingted View Post
    Direct shipping from China to the UK would help me out lol

    And everything else you have mentioned

    Stephen
    I am completely open to making the design "open source" to all the vendors that paid for the up-front mold cost - US or Foreign. So if Ray want's to chip in for the cost and be able to source them from the same vendor, that would be fine for me. I wonder if works for him given the high costs of air delivery.

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Posts
    1,254
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Can the CG-1500 Enclosure Be Improved?

    My updates to the CG-1500
    Slave 1.jpg screen intake for the fan Slave 3.jpgSlave 4.jpgCG-1500.jpgSlave 7.jpg
    I also added a rubber gasket in the groove. The kind that holds screens in their frames. The clip that holds the door closed can no longer be used, only the bolt, because of the added thickness of the rubber gasket.
    Last edited by stallionent; 06-30-2015 at 09:02 AM.

  12. Likes iflights, pixelpuppy, NkySpike65 liked this post
  13. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    913
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Can the CG-1500 Enclosure Be Improved?

    Quote Originally Posted by stallionent View Post
    My updates to the CG-1500
    Slave 1.jpg screen intake for the fan Slave 3.jpgSlave 4.jpgCG-1500.jpgSlave 7.jpg
    I also added a rubber gasket in the groove. The kind that holds screens in their frames. The clip that holds the door closed can no longer be used, only the bolt, because of the added thickness of the rubber gasket.
    For the fan - a few questions come up:

    * Should it be a AC or DC based fan
    * Is there any "standard" mounting hole pattern for fans, such as used on PC cases?
    * Would a pre-formed knock out along with bosses for mounting be sufficient for such a design?

    On a side note, another vendor who also sells CG-1500's has indicated that they might be increasing pricing and MOQ's...So does this mean a future price increase coming down the line for end-users?

Page 1 of 25 12311 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •