Page 3 of 17 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 164

Thread: Quick and easy 8' MegaTree kit development thread

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Winter Haven Florida
    Posts
    3,039
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Quick and easy 8' MegaTree kit development thread

    James any thought too having holes in the base so you can put rebar down into ground through it so you have the base stable
    James WinterHaven Fl

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Xenia, Ohio
    Posts
    1,354
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Quick and easy 8' MegaTree kit development thread

    James,

    I am just planning on using 12mm pixels. Thanks!
    [COLOR=#008000]2016 - 5th. year - Over 18,000 channels E1.31 including 350 Channels Renard, Video Projection - XL/NC - On Falcon Player, up to four megatrees.
    [/COLOR][COLOR=#008000]2017 - 6th. year - Moved display to a public park, Over 45,000 E1.31 channels, down to 100 Channels of serial Renard - XLights running on Falcon Player on a raspberry PI.[/COLOR][COLOR=#008000]
    2018 - 7th, year - Still at Shawnee Park, over 52,000 E1.31 channels, down to 96 channels of Renard - [/COLOR][COLOR=#008000]XLights running on Falcon Player on a raspberry PI.
    [/COLOR][COLOR=#008000]
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    [/COLOR]
    Randy: X[URL="http://www.xenialights.com/"]enialights[/URL] on [URL="https://www.facebook.com/pages/XeniaLights/420036314711206"]Facebook[/URL]

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    1,969
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Quick and easy 8' MegaTree kit development thread

    Quote Originally Posted by TazChaLet View Post
    James any thought too having holes in the base so you can put rebar down into ground through it so you have the base stable
    Great Idea, I'll add a hole for a 3/8 rebar or a 60D nail. I didn't use a spike on my trees and they worked fine. I actually used a scrap 2x4 square, figured this was a little more professional and complete.

    James
    Website - <a href="http://www.BoscoyoStudio.com" target="_blank">Boscoyo Studio</a>
    Facebook - <a href="https://www.facebook.com/pages/Hohensee-Family-Christmas-Lights/1379680168919312" target="_blank">Hohensee Family Lights</a>

  4. Likes TazChaLet liked this post
  5. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    1,969
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Quick and easy 8' MegaTree kit development thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Xenia View Post
    James,

    I am just planning on using 12mm pixels. Thanks!
    So you want 64 strips? At 25-26" in diameter, I would be worried about the topper deflecting or bending. You would need several mounting points to your existing topper as far out as you could get.
    Website - <a href="http://www.BoscoyoStudio.com" target="_blank">Boscoyo Studio</a>
    Facebook - <a href="https://www.facebook.com/pages/Hohensee-Family-Christmas-Lights/1379680168919312" target="_blank">Hohensee Family Lights</a>

  6. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    East Brunswick, NJ
    Posts
    244
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Quick and easy 8' MegaTree kit development thread

    So for the base, each strip is attached directly to the ground vs a curved piece of EMT or other circular material at the bottom?

  7. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Kennesaw, GA
    Posts
    926
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Quick and easy 8' MegaTree kit development thread

    I suspect you could use a slightly longer center pole to elevate the topper and use the a base circle of some kind if you desired. Today I use 1/2" emt and after hooking them on the top they just lean on the ground and I have no problems. But then they are rigid and the strips are flexible.
    Jim Nealand
    Kennesaw, Ga

  8. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    1,969
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Quick and easy 8' MegaTree kit development thread

    Quote Originally Posted by brianweb View Post
    So for the base, each strip is attached directly to the ground vs a curved piece of EMT or other circular material at the bottom?
    Correct, I take a piece of string and tie it to the pole, mark what ever radius I want on it and mark the ground. Put the 60D nail through an empty pixel hole and drive it into the ground.

    Quote Originally Posted by jnealand View Post
    I suspect you could use a slightly longer center pole to elevate the topper and use the a base circle of some kind if you desired. Today I use 1/2" emt and after hooking them on the top they just lean on the ground and I have no problems. But then they are rigid and the strips are flexible.
    The center pole is going to come 10' long, so yes you can make tall/skinny or short/fat.
    Website - <a href="http://www.BoscoyoStudio.com" target="_blank">Boscoyo Studio</a>
    Facebook - <a href="https://www.facebook.com/pages/Hohensee-Family-Christmas-Lights/1379680168919312" target="_blank">Hohensee Family Lights</a>

  9. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Winter Haven Florida
    Posts
    3,039
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Quick and easy 8' MegaTree kit development thread

    I used 1/2" pvc for mine but used 1' rebar at bottoms with zip ties too hold them
    Quote Originally Posted by jnealand View Post
    I suspect you could use a slightly longer center pole to elevate the topper and use the a base circle of some kind if you desired. Today I use 1/2" emt and after hooking them on the top they just lean on the ground and I have no problems. But then they are rigid and the strips are flexible.
    James WinterHaven Fl

  10. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Midlothian, Texas (south DFW)
    Posts
    146
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Quick and easy 8' MegaTree kit development thread

    I would be interested in a topper and guy wire ring without the strips. Have those already.

    My only concern is how well the 3/4 conduit and the 60dwill hold up to wind and wet environments. Worry about the holding power of the nails when the ground is wet and the wind kicks up.
    Dan

  11. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    1,969
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Quick and easy 8' MegaTree kit development thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Dan@ View Post
    I would be interested in a topper and guy wire ring without the strips. Have those already.

    My only concern is how well the 3/4 conduit and the 60dwill hold up to wind and wet environments. Worry about the holding power of the nails when the ground is wet and the wind kicks up.
    Power in numbers! While the Guy wires hold the pole, once you get the strips staked down they anchor the tree as well. I played with 10" long 60D nails and that would be an option to you as well as 12" long ones. I guess if you know you have very wet and worried about the holding power of your soil you could use the longer nails. We had several storms blow through our area and the trees didn't care one way or the other. You also have to remember that the surface area of these strips is minimal as well.
    Between Pierre and I we had 11 of these trees made and used through the season. Pierre's are 50 pixels tall and made a bit different because we were working with his existing elements and retrofitting them with the new topper and strips. But his pole was a 3" PVC pipe with the same Guy wires and strips 15' long.

    James
    Website - <a href="http://www.BoscoyoStudio.com" target="_blank">Boscoyo Studio</a>
    Facebook - <a href="https://www.facebook.com/pages/Hohensee-Family-Christmas-Lights/1379680168919312" target="_blank">Hohensee Family Lights</a>

Page 3 of 17 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •