Thread: Stupid Question.....PIC

Pearland, Tx (sometimes) and anywhere on the globe the rest of the time
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Stupid Question.....PIC

Okay,

In the field modules, what does the PIC actually do?

What I understand it to do is to recieve the data from the controller module for each of its SSR outputs. It then runs the "dimming" via PWM for each channel while the computer and controller are sending the data to the other field modules. Is this correct?

Also, it seems that the field modules ID are based on 2 bits. Is there a way to expand this? I am not an ASM programmer so digging into the PIC code is not something I want to do (but will if I have too!).

Thanks,
    Chris

PS Any word on when the FGII system info will be done????

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Stupid Question.....PIC

I now realize that I am replying to my own post....

However, I have this problem that I need to COMPLETELY understand something as I make it. So, I have loads of questions (parts and copper clad board already delivered).

1. The previous question seems to be answered yes.
    2. However, how does the field module know when to read in the data? I have traced the circuit back from the jumpers but they simply lead back to the output pins. :confused:
    3. The ASM code has commands in it that are not present the PIC's Data sheet. I am very confused by the "?" in the move & label commands. Could this be an editor issue?
    4. What is the practical limit of this controller? The jumpers in the field module have only 4 possiblities now, but it seems that this could be expanded? Is this a communication timing limit for 128 channels?

Thanks,
    Chris

Post Thanks / Like