Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Dirkcheap Power Strip!

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    10,283
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Dirkcheap Power Strip!

    Quote Originally Posted by codec101 View Post
    I wanted to leave the existing on/off switch in tact which does switch the hot, but I get what you are saying with the SSR switching the neutral. That did cross my mind but given the fact that with the SSR would be constantly switching the circuits on and off, why one even try to do anything while its plugged in and operating?

    As I said, the existing switch does completely turn the HOT wire off when switched off. I suppose one could rewire it completely to have the existing switch control the HOT and the SSR switch the hot as suggested. I'll update it for that.
    If someone came by and touched your lights - even if off - they still have HOT running through them - if they touch ground (wet shoes) - - circuit made. This won't happen with switched HOTs.
    [COLOR=#000080][B][I]Brian[/I][/B][/COLOR]

    [COLOR=#ff0000]Christmas in San Jose! - [URL="http://www.christmasinsj.com"]WEB[/URL] - [URL="https://www.facebook.com/ChristmasInSanJose"]FB[/URL] - [URL="https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL1W78s7liEQEE0ed7WSyLF7B6j3lBX43w"]VIDEOS[/URL]
    [/COLOR][COLOR=#800080]Halloween in San Jose! - [URL="https://www.facebook.com/pages/Halloween-in-San-Jose/356280784428581?ref=tn_tnmn"]FB[/URL]
    [SIZE=1]2015 Halloween Show - Planning now - hopefully some house projection...
    2015 Christmas Show - 5x E681-12, 1x 6804, Ren48LSD, 3x RenSS16, 1x Falcon16v2 (w/expander), 24x90 WS2811 pixel MT (James MT Strips), 12x DIYC Floods, SuperPixelStar, 3x Pixel Arches, PixaBulb House outline
    [/SIZE]
    [/COLOR][SIZE=3][COLOR=#008000][I]Ignorance is Temporary [/I][/COLOR][COLOR=#800080][I]- [/I][/COLOR][COLOR=#ff0000][I]Stupidity is Forever[/I][/COLOR][COLOR=#800080][I]...[/I][/COLOR][/SIZE][I][COLOR=#ff0000]
    [/COLOR][/I]

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Mishawaka, IN
    Posts
    294
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Dirkcheap Power Strip!

    The OP has been updated with the updated guide. The SSR does now switch the HOT side as well as does the on/off switch. I also included the option of an RJ45 jack or a predetermined length of CAT5. Thank you for the suggestions and comments!

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Pacifica, Calif (30mins from downtown San Francisco)
    Posts
    2,192
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Dirkcheap Power Strip!

    Fast turnaround on the fixes!

    Great doc.

    \dmc
    ________________________
    The only thing more dangerous than a software engineer with a soldering iron
    or a hardware engineer with a compiler is a liberal-arts major with either.
    [b]Christmas lights:[/b] [url]http://www.PacificaLights.info/[/url]
    [b]uC/LED hacking:[/b] [url]http://www.dmcole.net/[/url]

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Washington, Georgia
    Posts
    3,271
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Dirkcheap Power Strip!

    Good guide and nice install!

    You may want to change "DYI" to "DIY" in your disclaimer.
    DIYC Links:
    [URL="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php"]Christmas Wiki[/URL] | [URL="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/addonchat.php"]Chat[/URL]

    Ricky, Jrd

    "With great power comes great electricity bill." - Unknown Electricity Consumer
    "Your significance in life is not what you do, but how and why you do something." - Unknown Minister
    [COLOR="SeaGreen"]2012
    City float for Parade of Lights with:
    Fm-02 + Wall Wart Tamer
    2 Ren4Flood + DIYCFlood + Ren-W in 500 Watt enclosure
    2 Simple Renard 32
    15 SSROZ
    2 24 Channel RBW LED Ropelight Midi Trees out of artificial Christmas trees.

    <a href="#" onclick="return(showhide(this));">Click here to show/hide my past display details ...</a>
    <script language="javascript">function showhide(anc){ //
    // traverse forward from anchor to find hidable div:
    for(; ; ){ if(!anc.nextSibling) break; if(anc.nextSibling.nodeName == "DIV") break; anc = anc.nextSibling; }//
    var Y='block', N='none', det=anc.nextSibling; //
    //fall-back plan: use named div:
    if (!det) det=document.getElementById('details'); //
    //toggle visibility:
    det.style.display=(det.style.display!=N)?N:Y; //
    //prevent page refresh:
    return false;}</script><div id="details" style="display:none;">2011
    Renard 24 v3.3 100%
    FM-02 with antenna 100%
    16' 8 channel Multi-color + Clear Megatree 100%</div>[/COLOR]

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Apple Valley, MN
    Posts
    114
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Dirkcheap Power Strip!

    Any reason you couldn't leave the ground strip in place and shift the hot legs out the other direction towards the outside of the power strip and make your connections there? This would allow the grounded extension cords to be used if the lights aren't plugging right into the power strip and removes the possibility of the ground prong possibly contacting the hot leg. Also, you wouldn't have to cut out all the pegs on the back of the power strip that holds that ground strip in place. Is it possible to keep the 5th outlet and maybe shift the controlled outlets down one, making the first outlet non-ssr switched, and the next 4 SSR outlets, leaving the SSR circuit where the transformer slot would be? Don't know if there is enough room down there or not, might be handy to have a non-switched outlet for testing your lights at.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Mishawaka, IN
    Posts
    294
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Dirkcheap Power Strip!

    With this particular power strip and another one I am using now that I acquired for free in bulk, there is not enough room to route the wires on the outside and turn the hot leg out that way. I did try that first, couldn't get it all to fit and be able to reassemble the strip. The same goes for the 5th outlet. Would be nice and very helpful but there just isn't enough room with the strips I have after putting the SSR and the RJ45 jack in it. The beautiful thing about DIY though is you can always modify it to your needs when building it! Funny thing is I don't actually plan on using all the strips I have this year because I ordered a bunch of RGB pixels after I wrote this up.

    Thanks for the additional ideas!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •