Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: dirkcheap acssr for dc?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Joliet, IL
    Posts
    291
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default dirkcheap acssr for dc?

    Is there any reason you couldn't run 12vdc through a dirkcheap acssr instead of 120vac? As long as the current isn't too high....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Framingham, MA
    Posts
    490
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: dirkcheap acssr for dc?

    I don't think they would shut off without a 0 cross from the AC line.

    However, I have created semi-DC ssr's from the DirkCheaps. See:

    http://www.diychristmas.org/vb1/show...ighlight=dcssr

    Requires a slightly modified firmware for the controller though.
    Dan Kulp

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,341
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: dirkcheap acssr for dc?

    You can't use AC SSRs to control DC for the reason that dkulp stated.
    Phil

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Joliet, IL
    Posts
    291
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: dirkcheap acssr for dc?

    Ok... I just stared at the schematics and researched further and now I think I understand why.
    I thought the on/off/dimming zero cross was only controlled by (in my case) the Ren64. But, I think I see the difference in the chips that i didn't realize before....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Hudson MA
    Posts
    3,885
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: dirkcheap acssr for dc?

    I think you need to take a look at the info in this discussion. It will help you understand the importance of ZC. The Ren 64 does not control ZC. It detects it and reacts to it by refreshing the SSR.

    http://doityourselfchristmas.com/for...des+rectifiers


    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show.
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyX...ttrsZNARkUce0Q

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SLC, UT
    Posts
    937
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: dirkcheap acssr for dc?

    Hey Dirk, is there a plan to make a DrikCheap DCSSR?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Ottoville ohio
    Posts
    1,370
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: dirkcheap acssr for dc?

    id like a board with just a single DCSSR channel on it. i have alot of dc elements that only need 1 channel and 2 grinchs to run them.
    2012 - The year of the pixels
    21ft tall 12x38ct WS2811 Pixel Megatree - DONE
    5 36ct GECE Pixel Archs - Maybe
    Pixelated roofline with windows - DONE
    Bigger matrix and pixel star - DONE
    Added 1200 pixels, a few strobes, and fast tubes
    Now it just all has to play nicely lol.

    [url]http://www.facebook.com/FiedlerFamilyChristmas[/url]
    [URL="http://www.facebook.com/OhioChristmasDisplays"]http://www.facebook.com/OhioChristmasDisplays[/URL]

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    10,283
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: dirkcheap acssr for dc?

    Quote Originally Posted by ppohlman View Post
    Hey Dirk, is there a plan to make a DrikCheap DCSSR?
    I'm not clear what's being asked here? The DirkCheap SSR is cheap because it doesn't use a large TRIAC for the output but relies on the smaller TRIAC within the opto to do the work. I don't follow the context of this for DC? Are you just asking for a smaller DC output - something like the Ren48LSD does now? The biggest cost with the DCSSR is probably the MOSFET. Or are you just asking for a smaller form factor?
    [COLOR=#000080][B][I]Brian[/I][/B][/COLOR]

    [COLOR=#ff0000]Christmas in San Jose! - [URL="http://www.christmasinsj.com"]WEB[/URL] - [URL="https://www.facebook.com/ChristmasInSanJose"]FB[/URL] - [URL="https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL1W78s7liEQEE0ed7WSyLF7B6j3lBX43w"]VIDEOS[/URL]
    [/COLOR][COLOR=#800080]Halloween in San Jose! - [URL="https://www.facebook.com/pages/Halloween-in-San-Jose/356280784428581?ref=tn_tnmn"]FB[/URL]
    [SIZE=1]2015 Halloween Show - Planning now - hopefully some house projection...
    2015 Christmas Show - 5x E681-12, 1x 6804, Ren48LSD, 3x RenSS16, 1x Falcon16v2 (w/expander), 24x90 WS2811 pixel MT (James MT Strips), 12x DIYC Floods, SuperPixelStar, 3x Pixel Arches, PixaBulb House outline
    [/SIZE]
    [/COLOR][SIZE=3][COLOR=#008000][I]Ignorance is Temporary [/I][/COLOR][COLOR=#800080][I]- [/I][/COLOR][COLOR=#ff0000][I]Stupidity is Forever[/I][/COLOR][COLOR=#800080][I]...[/I][/COLOR][/SIZE][I][COLOR=#ff0000]
    [/COLOR][/I]

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Framingham, MA
    Posts
    490
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: dirkcheap acssr for dc?

    Probably a smaller form factor and hopefully cheaper DC SSR. My "hack" to the dirk cheaps uses a transistor, but that requires customer firmwares on the controllers and also doesn't provide any isolation. I was thinking of trying to experiment with sticking an opto-fet or opto-transitor. Either option would use roughly the same form factor of the DiskCheap. Obviously a much lower current that the full DC SSR (likely around .4A per channel looking at some of the specs), but for a lot of applications, that's probably enough.
    Dan Kulp

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SLC, UT
    Posts
    937
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: dirkcheap acssr for dc?

    Smaller form factor, cheaper, no need to power large currents, and ideally able to run power along the network cable. I'd love to only need to run one cable to control and power 4 channels.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •