Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 37 of 37

Thread: E1.31 Bridge Help

  1. #31
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    OKLAHOMA
    Posts
    1,590
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: E1.31 Bridge Help

    i swapped the rs485 chip (to no avail)
    i swapped the propeller chip (to no avail)
    i check the jumpers - no change
    checked the back for cold solder - no change

    dave, do you think it would help to send the firmware to the bridge again?

    OH, here is more information...

    this ONLY happens outside... when i run tests in my lab, port 2 works as expected.
    when i put the bridge back outside port 2 acts stupid...

    additional
    i swapped the lights that are in port 2 and put them in port 1 - they work great...
    consequentially, i put the lights that are in port 1 into port 2 and as expected port 2 makes any string act up...

  2. #32
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    OKLAHOMA
    Posts
    1,590
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: E1.31 Bridge Help

    is there any hope for this situation?

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Omaha, Ne
    Posts
    3,147
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: E1.31 Bridge Help

    Quote Originally Posted by Keebler View Post
    i swapped the lights that are in port 2 and put them in port 1 - they work great...
    consequentially, i put the lights that are in port 1 into port 2 and as expected port 2 makes any string act up...
    Are port 1 and port 2 the same amount of channels?

  4. #34
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    OKLAHOMA
    Posts
    1,590
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: E1.31 Bridge Help

    Quote Originally Posted by dlovely View Post
    Are port 1 and port 2 the same amount of channels?
    no.
    port 1 has 1080 channels (360 pixels)
    and port 2 has 720 channels (240 pixels)

    what really baffles me is.. why does it work inside (on port 2), but not outside. (i was thinking maybe electronic interference - so i relocated the bridge away from everything outside - same problem) the only absolute difference is inside the bridge lays flat on its back, outside it is mounted vertically on a tree.
    i can plug the lights that are in port 2 in any other port and they work perfectly.
    likewise, i can plug any working lights into port 2 and they have random star trek transporter lights (except for all white).
    i have replaced the data line from the bridge to the lights twice. (generally, when I have seen this before, replacing the data lines fixes it)
    i have replaced the px1 (even though it worked on another port, in fact on every other port, same with the data cables)

    here is a pic of the PX1 while the error is occurring
    -notice the error light

    20131114_170252.jpg
    Last edited by Keebler; 11-15-2013 at 07:23 AM.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Mentor, OH
    Posts
    1,145
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: E1.31 Bridge Help

    From what I see in your photo, is appears your power wires are run underneath the board. I always try to route all conductors above my pcb's to maintain clearance from the circuit traces and those poking terminal blocks. The insulation on some wire is very thin. IMHO.
    Chuck P
    nothing to show

  6. #36
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    OKLAHOMA
    Posts
    1,590
    Post Thanks / Like

    Cool Re: E1.31 Bridge Help

    I GOT IT
    I GOT IT

    THANK YOU all for your help and support

    here is what i found...

    the key was that it ONLY happened when the bridge was mounted vertically outside
    there was a stray piece of copper wire that was VERY small... that got hung up on an insulated LV power line that ran under the bridge. when the bridge was vertical that small wire hung down and acted like a very small electromagnet and created an even smaller voltage that touched a very very sharp sharp and somewhat longer solder point on the back of the bridge. and you guessed it, it was behind port 2.

    once that was remedied, i tested it.. and every port works PERFECTLY

    thank you all for your suggestions and help

  7. #37
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    OKLAHOMA
    Posts
    1,590
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: E1.31 Bridge Help

    I GOT IT
    I GOT IT

    THANK YOU all for your help and support

    here is what i found...

    the key was that it ONLY happened when the bridge was mounted vertically outside
    there was a stray piece of copper wire that was VERY small... that got hung up on an insulated LV power line that ran under the bridge. when the bridge was vertical that small wire hung down and acted like a very small electromagnet and created an even smaller voltage that touched a very very sharp sharp and somewhat longer solder point on the back of the bridge. and you guessed it, it was behind port 2.

    once that was remedied, i tested it.. and every port works PERFECTLY

    thank you all for your suggestions and help

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •