Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 42

Thread: Preview problems

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6,299
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Preview problems

    Quote Originally Posted by timon View Post
    Will do as soon as Survivor is over
    If this is your gpu you may want to upgrade >>

    http://www.ebay.com/bhp/ati-radeon-hd-2600

    The data you provided from the debug shows a possible lack of ram on this adapter . >>.

    MaxPrimitiveCount 1048575 <<<your card

    MaxPrimitiveCount 8388607 <<<< Joe's card I believe it is 1gig

    MaxPrimitiveCount 16777215 <<< My card 2 gig

    Just a thought

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tustin, CA
    Posts
    2,143
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Preview problems

    Quote Originally Posted by JHinkle View Post
    John:

    Go to the HLS site.

    Download John_MacTest.zip and try it.

    I changed the point size from 10 to 2.

    Let's see how that affects your display.

    Let me know.

    Joe
    As far as the eye can see there was no change. The pixel that's being drawn seems to be the same size.





    BTW, here is the information on my graphics card. It is only a 256MB card but I would think that's enough.

    Chipset Model: ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro
    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCIe
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    VRAM (Total): 256 MB
    Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
    Device ID: 0x9583
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    ROM Revision: 113-B2250L-259
    EFI Driver Version: 01.00.259
    Displays:
    iMac:
    Display Type: LCD
    Resolution: 1920 x 1200
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Built-In: Yes
    AL1716:
    Resolution: 1280 x 1024 @ 75 Hz
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Display Serial Number: 53401DC6PY11
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6,299
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Preview problems

    Unfortunately the ati 2400 and 2600 series graphics interfaces were under achievers when it comes to 3d rendering. The draw capablity is a direct

    measure relaitive to the MaxPrimitiveCount .

    Have you tried updating the drivers ?

    http://driverscollection.com/?H=Rade...0%20Pro&By=ATI

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tustin, CA
    Posts
    2,143
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Preview problems

    I'm running Mountain Lion and the drivers are solid. I've run some video intensive video editing without any real problems. That said Crosover now supports Mavericks which has kits of improvements so I can try that. But before I do any of that I want to see what Coadweavers says since I think it's more than a lower proformance GPU. Having the pixel being drawn at 6 to 10 time. The requested size looks more like a bug to me.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, U.S.
    Posts
    2,156
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Preview problems

    I dont knwo if this will help but on linux i alwasy had issues with ati cards under wine the (onboard)0 intel and nvidia always worked better. From what i remember it was because of the DirectX to OpenGl conversion. And the nvidia at that time had a better open gl firmware.

    IF you run hls from the console do you get any interesting errors?
    "Jack of all trades, master of none,

    Certainly better than a master of one"
    Projects:
    [URL]http://hackaday.io/project/1092-Raptor12-AC-light-controller[/URL]

    Videos
    [URL]http://www.youtube.com/user/KingOfKYA/videos?flow=grid&view=0[/URL]

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tustin, CA
    Posts
    2,143
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Preview problems

    Haven't tried that. Need to fine out how and try it.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tustin, CA
    Posts
    2,143
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Preview problems

    BTW, are some of the Mac users here willing to give this a try so we can see if it's a video card issue? Crossover is quick to install and the test for the problem is very quick to do. My quest test with a new preview window is just to try drawing an arch. If you get bit pixels it's failed, it's just that simple.

    Joe, One thing I noticed is that as I said it fails when I try to draw an arch but when I start drawing a line the line looks normal until I hit the space bar. At that point I can setup the pixels but once everything is done the final line gets drawn with big pixels. I suppect at the beginning your using simple line drawing commands but at the end it turned into a directx draw.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    3,646
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Preview problems

    No --- they are all directx functions. SPACE bar is where pixels (vertex points) replace arc segment. One is line drawing - the other is placing points on the line.

    How many pixels are you trying to pack into a line segment?

    Have you tried a very small number to see how that impacts your display?

    Joe

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, U.S.
    Posts
    2,156
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Preview problems

    NVM I did't read it fully.


    Quote Originally Posted by JHinkle View Post
    No --- they are all directx functions.

    How many pixels are you trying to pack into a line segment?

    Have you tried a very small number to see how that impacts your display?

    Joe
    Yes but... in order for linux or mac to display gpu stuff like this they must convert DirectX into openGL its just how it works,witch is most likely the issue here is a conversion is going wrong.
    Last edited by kingofkya; 10-31-2013 at 12:47 PM.
    "Jack of all trades, master of none,

    Certainly better than a master of one"
    Projects:
    [URL]http://hackaday.io/project/1092-Raptor12-AC-light-controller[/URL]

    Videos
    [URL]http://www.youtube.com/user/KingOfKYA/videos?flow=grid&view=0[/URL]

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tustin, CA
    Posts
    2,143
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Preview problems

    I did a simple straight line of 50 pixels and use one of my arches as the source.

    When I drew the line it was just perfect.

    I assigned the 50 pixels and that went perfect.

    When I finished and hit that last "OK" bingo, there was my line with fat pixels.

    Assigned the test preview as current, played Wizards and it followed the song perfectly.

    This is so exasperating since it's actually doing everything right except the pixels are just too darn big.

    I even removed the D3DX9_43.dll that comes with HLS to make sure that Wine would use the one they supply thinking it pure. Still have fat pixels. I'm going to have Wine force different newer Directs but I don't think anything is going to make a difference.

    As I said it's so darn close but no joy. Exasperating pure and simple.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •