Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 42

Thread: Preview problems

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Key West, FL
    Posts
    3,633
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Preview problems

    Quote Originally Posted by IdunBenhad View Post
    Hi:
    I am running a 27" iMac, but I am using Boot Camp and Window 7 and am having no issues (so far).

    I have never run Wine but I did try Parallels and did not like it. Windows is better run under Boot Camp.

    What I did find was that HLS does not like Windows XP and at least on my show computer, locks up. I have not solved that problem yet, even though I would prefer to run HLS, I can't. I have to stick with V2 or V3.

    Sorry, Joe!
    Idun:

    HLS is running on a LOT of XP machines.

    What do you mean it locks up?

    When you do what?

    Joe
    Link to my DownLoad Site: [B][COLOR=#ff0000][URL]http://www.joehinkle.com/HLS[/URL]

    [/COLOR][/B][IMG]http://joehinkle.com/HLS/HLS%20Logo%20Small.jpg[/IMG]

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Yuma, AZ
    Posts
    1,600
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Preview problems

    Hi:
    I haven't tried it for a while, so let me go out later today and try to run it again and give you a good report on what's happening. I had tried HLS on two machines running XP and was not successful. I like to stick with XP as it has proven reliable and stable and I own several copies!!

    Thanks for your quick reply, Joe. I will download the latest version of HLS and put it on the computer, which is an HP a610n with 1gb memory.
    [B][I][U]Idun[/U][/I][/B]

    [IMG]http://www.vixenlights.com/sig/sig_h.php/152/136.gif[/IMG]

    [B]Lotsa' Patience![/B] (Some days you can't win, the others you lose, and forget about the rest)

    [B]Some mornings I wake up GRUMPY and other days I let her sleep![/B]

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Yuma, AZ
    Posts
    1,600
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Preview problems

    Hi:
    Joe, I loaded HLS 16t onto two XP machines. One a laptop, HP dv6000, the other a HP a610n.

    I can set up a new sequence, add channels and set them to RGB and designate the Preview Group and Preview Numbers. No problems in the Channel Manager.

    When I go to the Preview setup, I select Edit a New Preview and from there on things go bad. The computer response slows down to having to wait many seconds for a button press. Setting the resolution takes forever and when I try to load the Background Image, both computers lock up and I have to power down to get out.

    Right now, the laptop is giving an error "Server Busy" and the only way out is to power down.

    So, I can't get past setting up the Preview on both machines.

    I will make further checks, not going to the Preview at this time.
    [B][I][U]Idun[/U][/I][/B]

    [IMG]http://www.vixenlights.com/sig/sig_h.php/152/136.gif[/IMG]

    [B]Lotsa' Patience![/B] (Some days you can't win, the others you lose, and forget about the rest)

    [B]Some mornings I wake up GRUMPY and other days I let her sleep![/B]

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tustin, CA
    Posts
    2,143
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Preview problems

    That seems strange to me as well since Windows XP is so darn stable.

    I've submitted my issues running HLS Preview under Wine to the Wine forum and hopefully someone has seen this issue, or something close to it, before. If not I'm hoping one of the developers is willing to figure out what DirectX is doing. There are two ways that Wine handles DirectX. Normally they have their own versions of DirectX but they can also run the native MS versions. I've tried both ways, assume that I did it right which I'm not totally sure I did, and received the same results. Anyway the guys on the forum are sharp so will see what happens.

    Idun, Your tag line is funny but has your better half read it?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Key West, FL
    Posts
    3,633
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Preview problems

    Quote Originally Posted by IdunBenhad View Post
    Hi:
    Joe, I loaded HLS 16t onto two XP machines. One a laptop, HP dv6000, the other a HP a610n.

    I can set up a new sequence, add channels and set them to RGB and designate the Preview Group and Preview Numbers. No problems in the Channel Manager.

    When I go to the Preview setup, I select Edit a New Preview and from there on things go bad. The computer response slows down to having to wait many seconds for a button press. Setting the resolution takes forever and when I try to load the Background Image, both computers lock up and I have to power down to get out.

    Right now, the laptop is giving an error "Server Busy" and the only way out is to power down.

    So, I can't get past setting up the Preview on both machines.

    I will make further checks, not going to the Preview at this time.
    Idun:

    When you engage Preview -- you kick in DirectX.

    I suspect you do NOT have any type of 3D acceleration on the machine so it's reverting to raw code mode --- REALLY SLOW.

    I thought from your original post --- you were using the XP machine as a SHOW computer. ... Driving the actual Light Show --- not Preview.

    HLS's Preview uses DirectX -- 3D accelerated graphics --- think hi-performance Gaming Engine.

    I don't think the issue is with the XP/Computer --- You don't have a Graphics card capable of handling the Preview requirements.

    Joe
    Link to my DownLoad Site: [B][COLOR=#ff0000][URL]http://www.joehinkle.com/HLS[/URL]

    [/COLOR][/B][IMG]http://joehinkle.com/HLS/HLS%20Logo%20Small.jpg[/IMG]

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Yuma, AZ
    Posts
    1,600
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Preview problems

    Hi:
    Thanks, Joe. I had thought that maybe because the video uses machine memory that that could be the problem. I have a couple of graphics cards, so I'll plug one of those in and see what happens.
    Can't do it on the laptop, of course. The laptop is for a special trailer that belongs to our Shrine Club and I built a 16 channel controller for it. I may have to continue to use (pardon the expression) Vixen.

    Thanks again. Will check into it.
    [B][I][U]Idun[/U][/I][/B]

    [IMG]http://www.vixenlights.com/sig/sig_h.php/152/136.gif[/IMG]

    [B]Lotsa' Patience![/B] (Some days you can't win, the others you lose, and forget about the rest)

    [B]Some mornings I wake up GRUMPY and other days I let her sleep![/B]

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tustin, CA
    Posts
    2,143
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Preview problems

    I've been trying to come up with some ideas about why Preview is failing on Wine especially since there are many games that run on Wine that use DirectX.

    One thing I've figured out is that all of the drawing is being done correctly. Everything lands where you expect it to. The reason it looks bad is the pixel size it being used to draw everything. I don't know what it should be but it seem to be using something close to a 60x60 pixel. I suspect if the pixel size was the size it's programmed to be everything would be working perfectly. So the question is why such a huge pixel size.

    I've not gotten an answer back from the forums yet however I did try using another wine package called CrossOver. This is a commercially packaged and supported version of Wine. I'm running on the 14 day free trial so tomorrow I'm gong to see if they will give me a little free support.

    BTW, what is the pixel size that should be drawn? That may help them help me find the problem. Also, is it stored in a file some place?

    Well, back to debugging.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Key West, FL
    Posts
    3,633
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Preview problems


    D3DFVF - D3DFVF_PSIZE = 10

    Hope that helps.

    Joe
    Link to my DownLoad Site: [B][COLOR=#ff0000][URL]http://www.joehinkle.com/HLS[/URL]

    [/COLOR][/B][IMG]http://joehinkle.com/HLS/HLS%20Logo%20Small.jpg[/IMG]

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tustin, CA
    Posts
    2,143
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Preview problems

    Thanks Joe, having that information may help and it sure won't hurt. At least there is a possibility to find where something is going astray, well just have to see.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Yuma, AZ
    Posts
    1,600
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Preview problems

    Hi:
    Joe, I installed a GeForce 6600 graphics card in the HP a610N computer. I finally found the drivers and installed them. All accelerators are on, but I can't find anything about Open GL, so maybe the card doesn't support it. It took me a long time to locate the drivers for this thing!!

    There was no difference in the performance. Everything seems to run great except setting up the Preview. It hangs and is Very slow and may not respond at all. I have looked at the machine and cannot find any reason for this to be happening.

    Thanks for your interest and replies.
    [B][I][U]Idun[/U][/I][/B]

    [IMG]http://www.vixenlights.com/sig/sig_h.php/152/136.gif[/IMG]

    [B]Lotsa' Patience![/B] (Some days you can't win, the others you lose, and forget about the rest)

    [B]Some mornings I wake up GRUMPY and other days I let her sleep![/B]

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •