Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678
Results 71 to 76 of 76

Thread: Cannot make a cat5 cable (GEEZ)

  1. #71
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    175
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Cannot make a cat5 cable (GEEZ)

    Good 'un matt!... I just grabed a blank and followed my own steps and realised that I do exactly that - but just didn't without thinking about it! :D
    Maybe I shouyld youtube the next one

    fcky529: the comment of the solid core - I concur... but be aware - there is an extensive thread on this elsewhere where I was "scorched" (not quite *flamed*) when I suggested this! A great many believe that it should be "fine" and that is a "pureists" view..

  2. #72
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Fairfield, Ca
    Posts
    208
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Cannot make a cat5 cable (GEEZ)

    Quote Originally Posted by aususer View Post

    fcky529: the comment of the solid core - I concur... but be aware - there is an extensive thread on this elsewhere where I was "scorched" (not quite *flamed*) when I suggested this! A great many believe that it should be "fine" and that is a "pureists" view..
    I would have to agree with both of you - I use solid on almost ALL of my cat5 - because it's ALOT easier to re-crimp etc. and is much cheaper. However stranded works much better for tight places, or where it could move alot - the solid can break and cause all kinds of havoc. I have ran cat5 inside of a motor home, and inside of "Rody" boxes where things get moved alot, and stranded all ways lasts longer.

    For my show the only place I used stranded was inside of my LEDtriks where I had to solder it.

    Just to confuse everyone a bit more- there is shielded cat5 also - Personally I have never seen stranded STP cat5.

  3. #73
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Cannot make a cat5 cable (GEEZ)

    I found the easiest way is once you remove the jacket, untwist all the colors and one by one wiggle it in a circular motion to get it straight. I then put them in order then cut to make sure they are all even.
    [url]http://www.vixenlights.com/sig/static/vixensig120.gif[/url]

  4. #74
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Robbinsville, NJ
    Posts
    1,536
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Cannot make a cat5 cable (GEEZ)

    I've been having some Cat 5 cabling issues myself. I kept making them and I'm thinking they are perfect but my tester is saying the 1st pair is not there (White/Orange, Orange), so I cut and redo. After further investigation and putting my multimeter across it I find the wires are GOOD! I discovered my TESTER pin was a bit bent. It is actually a good tester but I guess a socket went in wrong once.

    Also, I found the stripper built into the crimper didn't work all the time. I bought this cheap one from Radio Shack and it works like a charm

    http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2102881

    It even has a punch down tool on the end.

    One other trick I learned is that instead of removing only an inch of the outer jacket, take a couple inches off. It gives your fingers more room to untwist the pairs and line them up. When you get them nice and flat in the order you like, just snip them down to the right length.
    Michael



    New for 2016: Getting my ESPixel network to function, 4 HDPE Pixel Arches, Pixel matrix on tree trunks. PIXELS!!!
    FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/GothambeatProductions?fref=ts

    Gotham Beat Productions LLC

  5. #75
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    3,712
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Cannot make a cat5 cable (GEEZ)

    One thing I have learned this season (no, actually two) is don't buy the 'el cheapo' Cat 5, or male plugs. I went with the cheapest of each I could find, and I have had to remake or replace about a dozen cables this year........
    My first year I used a better quality cable (thicker insulation) and plugs and didn't have one problem...........
    Just sayin.............

  6. #76
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    409
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Cannot make a cat5 cable (GEEZ)

    i HAVE BEEN USING THIS TYPE FOR YEARS AND NO FAILURES OR MISWIRES.

    IT IS NOT YOU ONLY THE CONNECTORS

    http://www.smarthome.com/89209/EZ-RJ...15-Pack/p.aspx

    GOOD LUCK AND HAPPY HOLIDAYS.

Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •