Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 76

Thread: Cannot make a cat5 cable (GEEZ)

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    857
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Cannot make a cat5 cable (GEEZ)

    Since I have been told there is no such thing as a stupid question...

    What is the difference between the 2 orders you guys gave? I would think that as long as the order at the start and end were the same, the electrons travelling over the wires wouldn't care about the color of the cable. So why does the order matter? And I realize that it probably doesn't matter for the controllers here, and isn't exactly on topic of the thread, but this seems like the right place to ask it.

    Thanks
    1 channel, 0 dimmable. Powered by a man flicking a lightswitch to the beat.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Kannapolis, NC
    Posts
    618
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Cannot make a cat5 cable (GEEZ)

    Hey Tech Christmas is nice to see that someone uses the old (A) term scheme for Cat 5 that I do. I learned this route when I was in the Airforce and have never had a problem with a patch cable to date.

    deplanche

    You are correct the electrons do not care about the color of wire and as long as pins 1-8 are in the same order on both ends it will be ok. In a sense what you are making is a "straight through" cable. But the electrons over long hauls do care about the amount of what is called "cross talk" this is when signals over long runs start to "Inject" themselves across other wires in the same cable. The ending color scheme is done in such a way (Making certain data paris twist around others) as to minimize the amount of "cross talk" that occurs in the length of the cable run.

    I would stick with keeping them standard the same as you would do for network patch cables this was as others have said you can use them for more than on purpose and this helps cut down on confusion and cost.

    You can go with A or B term for the Cat 5 and with either you should be fine. It will take a bit to get the hang of it but once you do it is something that you will never forget.

    Bill
    Last edited by wbuehler; 03-17-2008 at 09:03 AM.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    North Ridgeville, Ohio
    Posts
    1,558
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Cannot make a cat5 cable (GEEZ)

    Quote Originally Posted by Tech Christmas View Post
    You are right -- but the standard you mention (T568B) is wrong. Yes, I know that is the way patch cables are made but that's wrong too.

    If you use T568A you have backwards compatibility and compatibility with two line phone systems. With T568B you don't. If you're in a new building run T568A. If you're in a site that has legacy cabling that is T568B run it that way.

    (/esoteric rant about which nobody cares but me) lol
    When I was trained as an electrician I also learned T568A, but I got so tired of the tech guys telling me that it was wrong, so I started using T568B. Then again, I was usually working on new buildings, so there were no legacy issues. I have done so many ends to the B standard that I think I can do it with my eyes closed.

    Quote Originally Posted by deplanche View Post
    Since I have been told there is no such thing as a stupid question...

    What is the difference between the 2 orders you guys gave? I would think that as long as the order at the start and end were the same, the electrons travelling over the wires wouldn't care about the color of the cable. So why does the order matter? And I realize that it probably doesn't matter for the controllers here, and isn't exactly on topic of the thread, but this seems like the right place to ask it.

    Thanks
    No it doesn't really matter as long as you're consistent, but you still shouldn't break the pairs.
    Last edited by omzig; 12-08-2009 at 12:10 PM.

  4. #24
    Tech Christmas Guest

    Default Re: Cannot make a cat5 cable (GEEZ)

    As Gomer Pile used to say, "Well surprise, surprise, surprise" other people than me do care. (yes I'm old BTW)

    No, the electrons do not care what color we make the insulation. But we do. The reason T568A is "better" is because that plays nice with the phone wiring standard, USOC. (Universal Service Order Codes)

    For running SSRs it is meaningless... but if you're wiring a building where you're also running phones, it means something.

    Like I said, esoteric rant.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    North Ridgeville, Ohio
    Posts
    1,558
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Cannot make a cat5 cable (GEEZ)

    Just to re-emphasize, while electrons don't care about the color of the insulation, if you ever intend to use this as a network cable you shouldn't just do it willy nilly. If you don't honor the pairs you are likely to have problems with crosstalk and magnetic interference (both induced and external). In other words, make sure that pins 1 and 2 are pairs, and 3 and 6 are pairs.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bastrop, Texas
    Posts
    978
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Cannot make a cat5 cable (GEEZ)

    Quote Originally Posted by omzig View Post
    willy nilly.
    Hmmm....another term for wiki glossary....
    Bob
    ----
    I love the smell of solder flux in the morning....smells like Christmas magic...[URL="http://photobucket.com/setup-2008"]Set up Done!![/URL] [URL="http://www.vimeo.com/rlilly/videos"]Showtime!![/URL]
    (for the fruit of light is found in all that is good and right and true) Ephesians5:9

  7. #27
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Apple Valley, MN
    Posts
    3,752
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Cannot make a cat5 cable (GEEZ)

    I think you should do it correctly so that when you guys get old and I find your stuff in a garage sale, I know it will still work for anything else. LOL
    [I]A mediocre person tells. A good person explains. A superior person demonstrates. A great person inspires others to see for themselves.[/I]

    <a href="#" onclick="return(showhide(this));">Click here to show/hide my display details ...</a>
    <script language="javascript">function showhide(anc){ for(; ; ){ if(!anc.nextSibling) break; if(anc.nextSibling.nodeName == "DIV") break; anc = anc.nextSibling; }//<br />
    var Y='block', N='none', det=anc.nextSibling; //<br />
    if (!det) det=document.getElementById('details'); det.style.display=(det.style.display!=N)?N:Y; return false;}</script><div id="details" style="display:none;"><br /><img src="http://www.vixenlights.com/sig/sig_h.php/128/All.gif" border="0" alt="" /></div><a href="#" onclick="return(showhide(this));">Click here to show/hide DIYC Links ...</a>
    <script language="javascript">function showhide(anc){ for(; ; ){ if(!anc.nextSibling) break; if(anc.nextSibling.nodeName == "DIV") break; anc = anc.nextSibling; }//<br />
    var Y='block', N='none', det=anc.nextSibling; //<br />
    if (!det) det=document.getElementById('details'); det.style.display=(det.style.display!=N)?N:Y; return false;}</script><div id="details" style="display:none;"><br /><b>Chat link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/addonchat.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/addonchat.php</a>
    <b>Christmas Wiki link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php</a>
    <b>File Library link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/dynamics/index.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/dynamics/index.php</a>
    <b>Who's in chat?</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/chat/info.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/chat/info.php</a>
    </div>

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    North Ridgeville, Ohio
    Posts
    1,558
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Cannot make a cat5 cable (GEEZ)

    One more thing on this. Some RJ45 ends are made for solid wire, some for stranded, and some for both. If you use the wrong one, you will have problems. I found this out the hard way.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SLC, UT
    Posts
    937
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Cannot make a cat5 cable (GEEZ)

    Since we're on the topic on "no stupid questions", I've got one just to clear something up for me.

    When I hear you guys talk about a "Straight through" cable, I think that the wires would go straight across in a connection. But then you say that you connect the wires in the same color order on both sides. This means that the wires are not "Stright Through", but more of a "single twist". Since a picture is worth 1000 words, see the attached picture of what I mean.

    So which one is it? "Straight Through" or "Single Twist"?

    Just wanted to make sure before I start making my cables. Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Pilot Mountain, NC
    Posts
    679
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Cannot make a cat5 cable (GEEZ)

    Straight through means, on both ends the wires are in exact same order, just like your bottom pic. Most people use a different "standard" order, but both ends would the same.
    Last edited by WakeFan; 03-19-2008 at 01:09 PM.

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •